TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 10-08-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
Alan_r

My TiVos cant connect to new netgear router wifi

Hello all
I posted this at the tivo support forums hoping to get some employee feedback, but figured I would give it a shot here as well.

Im very well versed in networking (I do it for a living) and this one has me stumped!

I have both a TiVo HD and Roamio Plus that cannot connect to my Netgear WNDR4300 router over WiFi.

I just replaced my old router with this Netgear.
The TiVos were working fine with the previous router.

The new router has both 2.4g and 5g radios and the 5g SSID is different than my previous SSID.
Both networks use WPA2-AES

The Romaio is using the built in wireless
The HD is using the TiVo G adapter.

I tried joining the Roamio to the new 5g network and it never successfully connects.
I either get the N02 (DHCP) or N07 (Router problem) errors. Or sometimes it says my password is wrong (which i triple checked and it isnt wrong)
Same thing with the HD when I try to connect to the 2.4g network.
Ive even tried specifying an IP manually, but it doesnt help.

I have 5 other wireless devices in the house that can connect to both of the networks on the netgear.
All use DHCP and connect without issue.

The Netgear has options for network speed, depending on the radio selected I can choose "Up to 54, 130, 216, 300, 450"

What Ive found is that if I set the 2.4g network to "Up to 54mbps" & WPA2-TKIP the Roamio will connect.
(required restarting the Roomio though)
I didnt try this with the 5g network.

But connecting at 54mbps is far from ideal and would limit my other devices.

Connecting to the router with a cable works fine.
Unfortunately I was using a 30ft cable for testing - I dont have a jack close to either of the TiVos.

So I dont actually think its a DHCP problem, even though thats the error I receive the most.