TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Remote Skip Forward Issue

I use the skip forward extensively to bypass commercials.
When a commercial break occurs, I usually press the skip forward button 6 times for 3 minutes and then 1 at a time until show comes back and jump back to the return point.

Every once in a while, when I press the skip forward several times quickly, the Tivo jumps forward by ticks, similar to pressing skip forward while Tivo is fast forwarding.

Does ayone else experience this issue?
I thought it was just my universal remote since I was using learning buttons, but it still happens on my new Roamio with the Tivo remote.

I wish I could disable the jump tick feature since I rarely use it and would like to have other options than the 2 they give in the menu.

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:04 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,317
Are you using 30-second skip or 30-second scan?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:25 PM   #3
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,404
What model TiVo?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:02 AM   #4
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
I am using 30 second scan. I got used to watching the scan to see when the show returns from commercial.

The first unit was a Premiere XL where I was using a universal remote.
I just received a RoamioPro and had the same thing happen using the included remote.

It doesn't happen often, but when it does, it is a pain to try and find where you were.
Happened during a football game recording and spoiled the next 2 quarters due to the jump.

I do push the button quickly 6 times when the commercial starts and I have tried to slow down my presses to see if that helps.

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 03:44 PM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,317
The problem might be that the TiVo is getting confused such that sometimes it treats on ongoing 30-sec scan as a FF and so a subsequent press does a skip to tic.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |