TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2013, 12:52 AM   #1
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
energy use of a TiVo Premiere

has anyone figured out how many kilowatt hours a Premiere uses per-month?
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 02:49 AM   #2
replaytv
elects "cold sleep"
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,027
I hooked a wattmeter up to my Premiere and I think it said .05 watts. I will hook it up again next time I move TiVos and report back.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 11:42 AM   #3
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
I hooked a wattmeter up to my Premiere and I think it said .05 watts. I will hook it up again next time I move TiVos and report back.
the electric company in our area states on their website that DVR's, during peak electricity rates, cost $34 month to operate!!! I have five - screwed!
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:37 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
the electric company in our area states on their website that DVR's, during peak electricity rates, cost $34 month to operate!!! I have five - screwed!
Are they really charging you $1.18/kwh? That would be if all 5 were Series 2's. It would have to be even higher if some or all are newer models.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:01 PM   #5
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Are they really charging you $1.18/kwh? That would be if all 5 were Series 2's. It would have to be even higher if some or all are newer models.
well of course, they don't make that clear...could be that they are the local cable companies...
top rate is .031 per kwh

Last edited by tvmaster2 : 10-05-2013 at 04:56 PM.
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:52 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
well of course, they don't make that clear...could be that they are the local cable companies...
top rate is .023kwh
A Series 2 uses about 40W. Assuming that the rate is actually $0.23/kwh, that would be ((40*24*30)/1000) *$0.23 or $6.64/mo * 5, so $33.12/mo total for all 5.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 03:57 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,598
Many of the "standards" published by utilities are from an ancient usage model (from EPRI, I believe) and have not been accurate with the last several generations of boxes, if ever.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 04:57 PM   #8
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
A Series 2 uses about 40W. Assuming that the rate is actually $0.23/kwh, that would be ((40*24*30)/1000) *$0.23 or $6.64/mo * 5, so $33.12/mo total for all 5.
sorry, my mistake. The top tier is actually .031 per Kwh

sorry, not following your math..is that 40 x 24 x 30 / 1000?

Last edited by tvmaster2 : 10-05-2013 at 05:05 PM.
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:04 PM   #9
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
sorry, my mistake. The top tier is actually .031 per Kwh
From where are you getting that figure? Are you sure it isn't $0.31/kwh? And that is about twice what every other source says is the high price in the U.S., except for Hawaii, which is $0.36/kwh. The lowest is Idaho, @$.08/kwh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
sorry, not following your math..is that 40 x 24 x 30 / 1000?
Yes. * is the multiplication symbol in computer speak.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:08 PM   #10
elorimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Smile

3 cents a KWH? You must live inside a nuclear power plant. In Tampa I pay 10.5 cents to 12.5 cents. In Connecticut it is down to 14.5 cents.
elorimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:19 PM   #11
smithken31100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hockeytown
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
sorry, not following your math..is that 40 x 24 x 30 / 1000?
40 watts x 24 hours per day x 30 days per month / 1000 to convert watt hours to kilowatt hours.

My electric rate is 5.2 cents per kilowatt hour, my Premiere 4 draws about 30 watts. In my case that works out to 21.6 kilowatt hours per month or $1.12 per month.
__________________
Series 2 DT 80 Gig
Premiere 4 2 Terabyte
smithken31100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:48 PM   #12
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
From where are you getting that figure? Are you sure it isn't $0.31/kwh? And that is about twice what every other source says is the high price in the U.S., except for Hawaii, which is $0.36/kwh. The lowest is Idaho, @$.08/kwh.

Yes. * is the multiplication symbol in computer speak.
lol...typo...yes, .31kwh

four tiers where I live: .15, .17, .29 & .31kwh

it's practically impossible to get the lower two rates if TV's, stereos and computers rule your life (less than 370kwh per month for those tiers). So, for all purposes, .31 it is.

tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:02 PM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
Why do you have 5 TiVos? Are they all 2 tuner units? Do you actually need 10 tuners? Or are you using them to stream to other rooms?

FYI a 6 tuner Roamio Pro only pulls about 21W at peak. A Mini only pulls about 9W. You could probably use some combination of those to reduce your electricity usage considerably.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:42 PM   #14
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Why do you have 5 TiVos? Are they all 2 tuner units? Do you actually need 10 tuners? Or are you using them to stream to other rooms?

FYI a 6 tuner Roamio Pro only pulls about 21W at peak. A Mini only pulls about 9W. You could probably use some combination of those to reduce your electricity usage considerably.
lol...yeah, I wonder that at times as well. Three Premieres (living / bedroom / bedroom), two Series 2's; one in a guest room as a failsafe and one for backup/parts for that. All have Lifetime subs. Premiere drives have failed more than once, so it's nice to have at least two units which can record.

I am looking at the Roamio/Mini/Stream concept as I write this....waiting for some promotion on units/Lifetime service, and pricing Ebay Premieres.

at .31kwh, and monthly usage of 900kwh's, I'd like to reduce electricity costs somewhat. I'd look at solar, but don't really know how long I will be living at my current address. You need to look downstream about ten years for that scenario.
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:21 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
Man you must have bad luck or bad power where you live.

I've had dozens of TiVos since 2000, as have all of my family members. I've only seen three hard drive failures ever. Both me and my Sister lost a drive in a S2 unit and my wife lost an external eSATA drive on her S3. My Sister actually still has a S2 TiVo I bought for her in 2002 and it still works.

I've had more problems with power supplies over the years then hard drives.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 03:05 AM   #16
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
lol...yeah, I wonder that at times as well. Three Premieres (living / bedroom / bedroom), two Series 2's; one in a guest room as a failsafe and one for backup/parts for that. All have Lifetime subs. Premiere drives have failed more than once, so it's nice to have at least two units which can record.

I am looking at the Roamio/Mini/Stream concept as I write this....waiting for some promotion on units/Lifetime service, and pricing Ebay Premieres.

at .31kwh, and monthly usage of 900kwh's, I'd like to reduce electricity costs somewhat. I'd look at solar, but don't really know how long I will be living at my current address. You need to look downstream about ten years for that scenario.
3 Premieres @25W/ea + 2 S2s @40W/ea is a total of 155w. 1 month is 111.6kwh. Even @ $.31/kwh, that's only $34.60/mo for all 5 TiVos.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 04:02 AM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
A Roamio Pro and 3 Minis would only cost about $10.84/mo. If you count the savings on electricity, CableCARDs, outlet fees, and the amount you could sell your Premiere units for it might not be that expensive of an upgrade.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:32 PM   #18
retired_guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saratoga, California
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
From where are you getting that figure? Are you sure it isn't $0.31/kwh? And that is about twice what every other source says is the high price in the U.S., except for Hawaii, which is $0.36/kwh. The lowest is Idaho, @$.08/kwh.

Yes. * is the multiplication symbol in computer speak.
Just looked at my top tier 4 rate for California zip code 95070 on my 9/24/2013 PGE statement and it's $0.54196 per kwh. Off Peak is "only" $0.30103. Average is (.54196 + 3*.30103)/4 = $0.361; I guess someone has to pay for those solar and wind systems. I justified my Elite some time ago using savings from replacing 2 HDs. If the Roamio would just support captions on ff1 I wouldn't have any trouble justifying one to replace my S3, but we really value that feature so it looks like I'm going to be paying for a lot for power for a long time--the wife wouldn't be worth living with if I eliminated that feature.
__________________
1 TiVo HD 660GB 36 month
1 Pioneer 57H 500GB Lifetime
1 TiVo Series 3 750 GB Lifetime
1 TiVo HD 1TB Lifetime

Last edited by retired_guy : 10-07-2013 at 11:28 PM.
retired_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:57 AM   #19
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
3 Premieres @25W/ea + 2 S2s @40W/ea is a total of 155w. 1 month is 111.6kwh. Even @ $.31/kwh, that's only $34.60/mo for all 5 TiVos.
yes, it would appear that the electric companies numbers are either HIGH across the board with regards to their appliance estimates, or my Kill-O-Watt meter is producing incorrect readings. Somewhere, the numbers I take around the house don't come close to adding up to what their "smart" meter says we use.
For example, I plugged my freezer into the KOW and set the rate to .31. My reading were $6.35 month.
Their website: $15 per month.
Same for the Tivo's....hmmm....I need to contact the KOW maker and see what the error variance rate is.
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:23 PM   #20
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,598
Utilities use EEI data, and broad averages, to come up with estimates. I bet most of these are 10 years old. There are many variances for appliances, I would not use their values over something you actually measure.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:18 PM   #21
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Utilities use EEI data, and broad averages, to come up with estimates. I bet most of these are 10 years old. There are many variances for appliances, I would not use their values over something you actually measure.
thanks. According to Kill A Watt manual, .2% variance is to be expected. My neighbors with one kid aren't even getting to tier three (of four) and have bills around $100 monthly. They don't watch much TV. Our bills are well over $200 and we get to tier four easily. TV's a killer
tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 09:15 AM   #22
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
thanks. According to Kill A Watt manual, .2% variance is to be expected. My neighbors with one kid aren't even getting to tier three (of four) and have bills around $100 monthly. They don't watch much TV. Our bills are well over $200 and we get to tier four easily. TV's a killer
It depends on the TV. WHen I had a 67" LEd DLP TV as my main viewing set, it barely used 100 watts when in use. But then I switched my main TV to an 82" lamp based DLP set. Now it uses around 215 watts. That made a noticeable difference on my electric bill. Fortunately I also have fewer TiVos now, so I've been able to offset some of the increase. And switching out an old Fluorescent lit LCD set to an LED lit LCD also saved a few more watts.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |