TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2014, 04:07 PM   #1
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Premiere support for RF remote?

Does the Premier support the newer RF remote control? I noticed in the system info screen there was entry about the RF remote control, the remote that came with it is just a IR remote, isn't it?

I'm getting a Roamio next week and I understand they come with the newer IR/RF remotes and just curious as a RF remote would nice with my Premiere.

Thanks!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 04:12 PM   #2
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 885
You can order a RF TiVo remote that comes with a USB dongle to enable RF for a Premiere. In the TiVo shop, there is a drop down box for which version of the RF remote you want to buy: Premiere/Mini or Roamio. The only difference is that the Premiere/Mini option would have a USB dongle thrown in the shipping box.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 08:18 PM   #3
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
You can order a RF TiVo remote that comes with a USB dongle to enable RF for a Premiere. In the TiVo shop, there is a drop down box for which version of the RF remote you want to buy: Premiere/Mini or Roamio. The only difference is that the Premiere/Mini option would have a USB dongle thrown in the shipping box.
I looked for the rf dongle and could not find it could you list the url for it.
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 02:32 AM   #4
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,938
The drop-down was for the TiVo Slide Remote which includes the dongle. The remotes are now listed separately in the store.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 05:13 AM   #5
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
You can order a RF TiVo remote that comes with a USB dongle to enable RF for a Premiere. In the TiVo shop, there is a drop down box for which version of the RF remote you want to buy: Premiere/Mini or Roamio. The only difference is that the Premiere/Mini option would have a USB dongle thrown in the shipping box.
And that remote also works with the Roamio without the USB adapter?

I thought I read something here in another msg that the Premiere uses blue tooth frequencies ? Or at least the Tivo slide remote uses blue tooth wireless frequencies? I was just curious about the idea that there is a Tivo remote that operates on the bluetooth frequency.

Thanks for the info!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 07:49 AM   #6
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
And that remote also works with the Roamio without the USB adapter?

I thought I read something here in another msg that the Premiere uses blue tooth frequencies ? Or at least the Tivo slide remote uses blue tooth wireless frequencies? I was just curious about the idea that there is a Tivo remote that operates on the bluetooth frequency.

Thanks for the info!
Ok, my original post was a little mixed up/outdated. The RF remote that comes with a dongle for Premieres is the Tivo Slide Pro, not just a basic RF Tivo Roamio remote. They are currently Out of Stock on the website and are now listed as two distinct products: Tivo Slide Pro-Roamio and Tivo Slide Pro-Premiere, no drop down box anymore. And yes, the Tivo Slide Pro works with a Roamio with no need for the dongle.

The references you're seeing to a Bluetooth remote refer to the old model of the Tivo Slide remote. It used a similar dongle, but the dongle was a receiver for Bluetooth instead of RF. That one was discontinued, maybe a year ago by now.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 08:28 AM   #7
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Thanks!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |