TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
jerrymc
TiVo Tinker
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Antioch, CA, US
Posts: 168
dialog audio too low on Tivo Desktop recordings

I have Tivo Desktop Plus v2.8.3 running on my laptop with Windows XP. Playback of shows downloaded from my S3 have perfect sound on commercials, but during the shows, the dialog audio levels are super low while the "background" audio (laugh track, music, ambient sounds) are normal. I can't turn the volume up high enough to make the dialog discernible.

I've adjusted my laptop audio settings 9 ways from Sunday with no improvement. I tried the same show on my Windows 7 Desktop and the sound is fine. Is this a codec issue?

I ran ggieseke's TivoDesktopCodecMgr tool. The graph shows AC3 in to MainConcept Dolby Digital Audio Decoder, then to Tivo PCM Boost before going to Default DirectSound Device.

Is there a setting on my Tivo that needs to change?

Thanks for any assistance.

-Jerry
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic - 316HD hrs
TiVo S3 - 106HD hrs
TiVo HD - stock
HR10-250 - 77HD hrs
HR10-250 - 63HD hrs
Philips DSR7000 - 240SD hrs
jerrymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:14 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
Which AC3 filter is it using? There is a free one called AC3Filter that has all sorts of settings including some compression settings which would probanly help with that.

Alternatively you could run the files through VideoReDo and change the audio to 2ch MP2. That should be louder.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:55 AM   #3
jerrymc
TiVo Tinker
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Antioch, CA, US
Posts: 168
Thanks Dan! Installing AC3Filter did the trick!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic - 316HD hrs
TiVo S3 - 106HD hrs
TiVo HD - stock
HR10-250 - 77HD hrs
HR10-250 - 63HD hrs
Philips DSR7000 - 240SD hrs
jerrymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:21 AM   #4
TIVO_GUY_HERE
I miss the ocean
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 5,572
+1

Thanks Dan, I just installed, it and works perfectly. I couldn't even hear the shows before, now I actually have to turn down the volume.
TIVO_GUY_HERE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:43 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,441
Is there any way to do this sort of thing for stuff that's being played back on a TiVo and watched on a TV?

Or does mom just need to turn on the TV's closed caption function and leave it on?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:00 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
Try changing the TiVo to PCM output mode. If it's connected directly to the TV that tends to produce louder audio.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:34 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Try changing the TiVo to PCM output mode. If it's connected directly to the TV that tends to produce louder audio.
I don't think her S2 DT can do that.

And it's not the audio level that's the problem, it's the level of the dialogue relative to everything else on the soundtrack.

Partially the blame rests with whoever's producing shows these days and the way they mix, with Burn Notice being the exception that proves the rule and shows that it doesn't have to be that way, just like stuff produced a few decades ago prove it doesn't have to be that way.

But, being familiar with the way FM radio stations that broadcast in stereo can wind up with a mono signal that sounds like one channel is phase reversed because of something in the processing chain, I wonder if perhaps new stuff designed to be in 5.1 or 7.1 or whatever might have problems when converted to only left and right that goes undetected by people mixing it with 5 and half speakers in the room, and wondered if there was a way to undo some of those unintended consequences.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:03 AM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
Is the S2 connected to a cable box? If so check the cable boxes settings and look for one called audio compression. That can help with the disparity between the dialog and the effects. If it's connected directly to the cable then there isn't much you can do. These days analog channels are actually down mixes of the HD channels which have 5.1 audio and unless they apply compression at the time it's converted you're going to get the effect you describe.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:21 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Is the S2 connected to a cable box? If so check the cable boxes settings and look for one called audio compression. That can help with the disparity between the dialog and the effects. If it's connected directly to the cable then there isn't much you can do. These days analog channels are actually down mixes of the HD channels which have 5.1 audio and unless they apply compression at the time it's converted you're going to get the effect you describe.
We haven't been forced to a cable box yet. Just straight TWC analog cable.

Thanks for the confirmation that the people doing the audio mixing are at least partially to blame.

I don't suppose there's any way to run left-right line level through something and turn it back into surround sound?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 01:57 AM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,892
If you have a surround sound system you can turn it to PLiix mode and then turn up the center speaker and that should help with the dialog.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |