TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2012, 07:03 AM   #1
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,798
Use a Tivo slide remote with Windows Media Center

I ran across this article on one of my HTPC forums that I thought might interest some of you. It shows you how to set up a Tivo slide remote for use with Windows Media Center.

http://thedigitalmediazone.com/2012/...-media-center/

This looks like the perfect solution for reducing remote clutter on your coffee table if you're using Windows Media Center. If I wasn't using a Harmony One remote to control my HT setup I'd consider the slide remote. I currently use a Lenovo 5902 keyboard/trackball remote for the occasional typing chore in Windows or when I'm doing a search in Media Center.

mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 09:35 AM   #2
luckem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 3
I would like to use my standard TiVo roamio remote to control my windows media center volume level. I however cannot find any codes that successfully work for this. Has anyone been able to do this (with a non-slide remote)?

luckem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 02:46 PM   #3
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,798
Normally, the volume control for Windows Media Center is whatever you use to control the volume on your AV receiver or preamp/processor. Try and program it for the actual sound device rather than the Windows volume control/

mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 05:57 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 27,509
TC CLUB MEMBER
The best part about using a PC is that they are infinately customizable. With a USB IR receiver and the proper software you can make them do anything. By default the Roamio remote uses RF for all the main TiVo buttons, but still uses IR for Power, Volume, Input and Mute. You can switch all the buttons to IR by holding TiVo+Red C for a few seconds. (The light blinks red in IR mode or amber in RF mode)

There is a popular product called flirc that allows you to learn any remote command and then map it to a function in MCE. You could just assign the volume buttons to some popular brand AV receiver and then use it to map thise commands to the internal volume of Windows if that's what you wanted.

https://flirc.tv/product/flirc/

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:12 AM   #5
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,798
Nice. I hadn't heard of flirc before. Prior to using WMC I was using BeyondTV. Instead of using their Firefly remote I was using EventGhost with a USB-UIRT and a universal remote. The USB-UIRT is an IR receiver that works quite well, but it's a bit pricey ($50). EventGhost is a utility that lets you customize any remote for use with any PC app by capturing the IR command and allowing you to map it to any keyboard or mouse function.

mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.
Page generated in 0.05844307 seconds (70.97% PHP - 29.03% MySQL) with 18 queries