TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2015, 11:16 AM   #1
Cecil Britton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SE Arizona
Posts: 4
Fall Update wiped Amazon & Netflix

Sometime yesterday Tivo updated both my DVRs to the latest software. Now i have a bunch of new icons I didn't need but they have wiped out access to my Netflix and Amazon Prime video accounts. What is the explanation for this reduction in service?

__________________
Cecebee
Cecil Britton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 11:48 AM   #2
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil Britton View Post
Sometime yesterday Tivo updated both my DVRs to the latest software. Now i have a bunch of new icons I didn't need but they have wiped out access to my Netflix and Amazon Prime video accounts. What is the explanation for this reduction in service?
I assume you have a Premiere, Roamio or Bolt? This is the S3 forum so you should post in the right forum for your model.

If you have a Premiere, it's been reported that the menu gets switched to SD during the update and you need to switch it back to HD which might be why you aren't seeing Netflix and Amazon Prime. Otherwise make sure they are checked as video providers.

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 07:00 AM   #3
Cecil Britton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SE Arizona
Posts: 4
Smile Fall Update wiped Amazon & Netflix

Scott, thanks for your reply. You nailed it. The problem was something simple in nature but very difficult to analyze. Tivo did re-initialize the SD menus on the system when they ran the update leaving the menu with the streaming video sources hidden. I have now fixed my problem.

Cecil

__________________
Cecebee
Cecil Britton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 09:03 AM   #4
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil Britton View Post
Scott, thanks for your reply. You nailed it. The problem was something simple in nature but very difficult to analyze. Tivo did re-initialize the SD menus on the system when they ran the update leaving the menu with the streaming video sources hidden. I have now fixed my problem.

Cecil
Glad it was something simple!

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.
Page generated in 0.12230492 seconds (45.58% PHP - 54.42% MySQL) with 18 queries