TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-21-2013, 09:12 PM   #1
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Amount of boxes/cost

Ok So I have 3 Premieres and a Stream now.

I am moving into a new house in 3 weeks and I am all about jumping to Direct TV. Mostly because i dont like my cable company. I do like my Tivo's but i need a lot of boxes and I think sticking with Tivo is Cost prohibitive.

With Direct TV

I Plan to get a
Genie(Living Room)
HD DVR(Master bed)
genie client(Kids Room)
genie client(Kids Room)
Regular HD Box(kids room)
regular hd box(office)

Total Tuner count is 9 with 7 that record

I would like to shift to a Roamio and some minis. But debating how to do it.

Total Monthly cost with Direct would be 80 for the first year and 123 after.

My current cable bill is 100 including the Monthly Tivo fee's.

I think I would need a Roamio, Roamio Plus and 4 mini's to match what i want with Direct TV

Biggest Plus Direct TV has is the unified playlist among the DVR's..

Thoughts?

Last edited by compnurd : 09-21-2013 at 10:18 PM.
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:29 AM   #2
Bucknut34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Genie is a solid dvr. I switched back to comcast because of a great deal they were offering. They also had the new x1 dvr platform. This was the worst POS that has ever been put on the market. We just changed to the tivo Roemio and mini and love it.
Bucknut34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:51 AM   #3
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,086
Roamio only works OTA or cable
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:11 AM   #4
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,153
Any of the current Premieres have lifetime?
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:24 AM   #5
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
Roamio only works OTA or cable
well aware
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:24 AM   #6
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
Any of the current Premieres have lifetime?
no
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |