TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2013, 01:02 PM   #1
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 718
TiVo Peanut Remote Comparisons

Is there anyone here who has enough old TiVo models to have the various peanut remotes and can take a comparison picture of all of them side by side?

Off the top of my head I can think of the Roamio remote (which I don't have - yet) which is smaller than...

The one that came with the Premiere which I do have.

The Glo Remote

The slideout keyboard remote

The older Series 1/2 remote that is supposed to be physically like the Roamio from what I read.

I'm sure there's more than that. What am I missing? What did Series 3 have, I don't remember.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:12 PM   #2
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 519
From left to right: Series 2, Premiere Glo, Slide, Roamio.


DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:15 PM   #3
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 718
Why am I not surprised DaveDFW posted that? haha. (Nice to know some of the other old timers I remember from ages ago on these forums are still around).

Do you remember what Series 1 had?

I also know there was a DirecTV variant.

Edit: I imagine moving guide from where it's been to the middle like that will take some getting used to.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:19 PM   #4
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,918
Yep. Guide should be just a quick slide up from the ChUp button. I guess I'll need to develop new muscle memory to find the guide btn in its new location. Or, just use my trusty glow remote.
markp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:48 PM   #5
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveDFW View Post
From left to right: Series 2, Premiere Glo, Slide, Roamio.
This is great to see. It looks like the Roamio remote is about the size of the original Series 1 remote which I've always considered ideal. I've come to like the compactness of the slide remote but I've never really cared for the size of the larger peanuts.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:53 PM   #6
replaytv
elects "cold sleep"
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrc View Post
about the size of the original Series 1 remote
I think I have one of those old remotes down in the basement. Will have to go down there and see if it works. I like the smaller size so I don't have to readjust my hand to get to buttons so much.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:55 PM   #7
MScottC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 642
The Series 1 has a Peanut the about the same size as the Roamio's.
MScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #8
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,674
The series 1 remote was definitely a bit shorter. The DirecTivo remotes aren't shown, but I think they're about the same size as the series 2/Glo remotes.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 04:30 PM   #9
monkeydust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by MScottC View Post
The Series 1 has a Peanut the about the same size as the Roamio's.
My series 1 was a Sony and it had a silver non-peanut remote that I really liked.
__________________
Active: Series 5 Plus, Series 4 Elite, Mini
Retired: S1, S2, & S3
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 05:07 PM   #10
MScottC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 642
I saw the Sony Remote... The Peanuts are so much better than the Sony TiVo Remotes.
MScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 05:18 PM   #11
pmalve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
nice that they havent changed much, easy to use
pmalve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 05:59 PM   #12
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
I think I have one of those old remotes down in the basement. Will have to go down there and see if it works. I like the smaller size so I don't have to readjust my hand to get to buttons so much.
They mostly work but as I recall Live TV and Guide were combined on one button in the original Series 1 remotes. The old remote worked with the Series 3 but if you used both types of remote TiVo assumed that you had a remote with a Guide button so it made bringing the guide up without the Guide button difficult.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 07:24 PM   #13
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,925
The Weakness page has good pictures to help also..
http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-peanut-remote.php
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 09:37 PM   #14
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
The Weakness page has good pictures to help also..
http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-peanut-remote.php
That shows button layout, but they seem to be size adjusted.

The TiVo Peanut remote shape is the reason I've never gone with a universal remote for everything. I could easily program all those buttons on a Harmony something or other, but then that "feel" wouldn't be there.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:19 PM   #15
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,195
There were ATT series one, which had standby key.

Here's an old photo Directv, and humax TiVo remotes:

Highslide JS

What differs on the directv TiVo remote, is the SAT/TV switch, where the SA has DVr1/DVR2 switch.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:46 PM   #16
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,354
Hey, any new Roamio owners who are married to their Glo remotes and want to sell (or trade for) the new Roamio remote? I really like it, and now that we're down to one TiVo in each room the Glo's 1/2 switch is not needed anymore.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:51 PM   #17
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Siegler View Post
That shows button layout, but they seem to be size adjusted.

The TiVo Peanut remote shape is the reason I've never gone with a universal remote for everything. I could easily program all those buttons on a Harmony something or other, but then that "feel" wouldn't be there.
I used a harmony for many years, but then I started using a couple of peanut remotes instead because I found it was just easier.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:01 PM   #18
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,354
Big plus I like on this latest Roamio remote--the flat parts on BOTH parts of the peanut. It's rolling off my armrest less now.

I haven't seen the Premiere remote pictured yet. Here it is with the Roamio remote. They're on my TiVo messenger bag. (why such tiny image size restrictions here? Silly.)


Attached Images
File Type: jpg TiVo-remotes.jpg (60.3 KB, 271 views)
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:19 PM   #19
HeatherA
Old AVS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 854
The moving of the Guide and Zoom buttons is really messing with me... not fun since we still have 3 other TiVos and a Mini with remotes that have the original location of the buttons.
__________________
-HeatherA

Roamio Basic 477HDHr TiVo Prem.4 237HDHr TiVo Prem.XL 157HDHr TiVo Prem. 192HDHrx2 TiVo Mini

Retired
TiVoS2DT 560hr HDVR2 104hr Phillips 14hr TiVoS2(40hr) DTiVo 69hr TiVoHD 21HDhr
HeatherA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:41 PM   #20
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,925
My biggest issue with the new Roamio remote is that they dumped one of their greatest ever features as if they forgot why they did it.

Glo-remotes and then Premiere remotes have ridges ONLY at the bottom, you pick it up without looking at you know you have it upside down, no such luck with the new remote, and I'm not a fan of the revised button layout.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 08:03 AM   #21
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,918
I have a Comcast-branded TiVo Peanut remote too. Note the dedicated On-Demand button



This only controlled the old Comcast box I had years back during the Comcast roll-out beta. The STB is long gone, but the remote is still sitting in a drawer with a ~dozen odd remotes.
markp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:14 AM   #22
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
There are a few variations of the Glo and Premiere remotes... subtle, mostly manufacturing changes I guess?

Also, I had two Toshiba TiVos (with DVD playback)... here's what that remote looked like.


davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:48 AM   #23
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 753
The first remote I had, from a Sony SVR-2000. I liked the 'List' button which took you straight to My Shows.



edit.. so how do get images to show up inline?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sony_svr.jpg (23.8 KB, 245 views)
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:53 PM   #24
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarBowl View Post
edit.. so how do get images to show up inline?
Use the IMG tag and point it to your attached image.

Like this:

__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 04:18 PM   #25
monkeydust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Use the IMG tag and point it to your attached image.

Like this:
Yeah, I loved that remote. I was upset when I had to move to an S2 with the peanut design.
__________________
Active: Series 5 Plus, Series 4 Elite, Mini
Retired: S1, S2, & S3
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 04:19 PM   #26
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,557
I never thought I would adapt to the peanut after using the Sony remote for so long. I think the smaller size is why I like the Slide so much better.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 06:06 AM   #27
replaytv
elects "cold sleep"
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 4,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust View Post
My series 1 was a Sony and it had a silver non-peanut remote that I really liked.
Those Sony TiVo remotes looked very similar to the remotes for ReplayTV DVRs. They have a knob kinda thing underneath that sat in your hand nicely. Actually nicer than any other remote I have ever had since.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:15 AM   #28
riekl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 329
I dislike both the new roamio and stream remotes for a very simple reason, the buttons feel cheap. Especially the arrow keys which are used a ton. Could have spent .05 more on better buttons for sure.
riekl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:28 PM   #29
rifleman69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
The series 1 remote was definitely a bit shorter. The DirecTivo remotes aren't shown, but I think they're about the same size as the series 2/Glo remotes.
The DirecTV remote looks almost exactly the same as the series 2 remotes. Just a few buttons are labeled differently but that's it.
rifleman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:50 PM   #30
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
Those Sony TiVo remotes looked very similar to the remotes for ReplayTV DVRs. They have a knob kinda thing underneath that sat in your hand nicely. Actually nicer than any other remote I have ever had since.
Thats because they were both made by UEI.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |