TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-17-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
ursa99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Question about Tuners....

I'm a longtime S3 user. Lifetime, new PS etc...

My question is does the Roamio have 6 independent tuners. I.E. 6 buffered live channels totally independent? Still uses 1/2 hr buffer?
Thanks,
Ursa
ursa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:57 AM   #2
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursa99 View Post
I'm a longtime S3 user. Lifetime, new PS etc...

My question is does the Roamio have 6 independent tuners. I.E. 6 buffered live channels totally independent? Still uses 1/2 hr buffer?
Thanks,
Ursa
The Plus & Pro models do however the basic Roamio only has 4 tuners/buffers. But you might say why you are asking for more info.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:28 AM   #3
ursa99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
The Plus & Pro models do however the basic Roamio only has 4 tuners/buffers. But you might say why you are asking for more info.
I'm asking because I also use a DirecTV DVR in my vacation home and it does not provide live buffers on each of it's 5 tuners. I wanted to insure that the Roamio implementation was similar to my S3.
Thanks for the information. Now to make a decision.

Ursa
ursa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:00 PM   #4
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursa99 View Post
I'm a longtime S3 user. Lifetime, new PS etc...

My question is does the Roamio have 6 independent tuners. I.E. 6 buffered live channels totally independent? Still uses 1/2 hr buffer?
Thanks,
Ursa
Yup.....6 independent tuners on the Plus/Pro each with a 30 minute buffer.

Coming from a TivoHD.....I am LOVING the Roamio. Awesome machine.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:04 PM   #5
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursa99 View Post
I'm asking because I also use a DirecTV DVR in my vacation home and it does not provide live buffers on each of it's 5 tuners. I wanted to insure that the Roamio implementation was similar to my S3.
Thanks for the information. Now to make a decision.

Ursa
Ok each tuner can/does have it's own live buffer, as long as the tuners are on different channels. If the tuners end up on the same channel I believe there is only one buffer for that channel. Some people have had some issues with this so you may want to look at some other threads like this one:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=509150
You may want to comment on how you want to use the buffers.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:07 PM   #6
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Ok each tuner can/does have it's own live buffer, as long as the tuners are on different channels. If the tuners end up on the same channel I believe there is only one buffer for that channel. Some people have had some issues with this so you may want to look at some other threads like this one:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=509150
You may want to comment on how you want to use the buffers.
Pretty sure each are independent. I can have the same channel on different tuners at different pause points.

That other thread is mine. I was seeing all tuners on the same channel and people were thinking it was due to either a reboot (which does reset all to the same tuner but mine didn't) or suggestions will set back to same channel.

I have seen nothing to suggest you can have 6 tuners on the same channel all with their own buffer. (not sure why anyone would want this anyway)

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:33 PM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Pretty sure each are independent. I can have the same channel on different tuners at different pause points.

That other thread is mine. I was seeing all tuners on the same channel and people were thinking it was due to either a reboot (which does reset all to the same tuner but mine didn't) or suggestions will set back to same channel.

I have seen nothing to suggest you can have 6 tuners on the same channel all with their own buffer. (not sure why anyone would want this anyway)

-Kevin
If the TiVo is rebooted, or you check the signal strength, afterwards it will have all tuners on the same channel.(If it doesn't start a recording) Each tuner seems like it has it's own buffer.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:58 PM   #8
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursa99 View Post
I'm a longtime S3 user. Lifetime, new PS etc...

My question is does the Roamio have 6 independent tuners. I.E. 6 buffered live channels totally independent? Still uses 1/2 hr buffer?
Thanks,
Ursa
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes


And each buffer is independent. Just tested it, even if I have two tuners on the same channel, I can pause them at different spots, as reported by kbmb.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |