TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-17-2013, 05:36 PM   #1
dkraft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 123
Confused about streaming

I only had a Premier XL4 and an the Tivo iPad app setup. I could not stream to the Tivo iPad app from the Premier XL4. That function was not available in the Tivio iPad app.

I then went out and bought a Roamio Pro. I now have my Premier and Roamio setup to transfer between devices. Everything is working correctly.

I then open my Tivo app and I am now able to stream from both the Premier and Roamio. Why is the Premier XL4 suddenly able to stream to the Tivo iPad app? I specifically select the Premier in the Tivo app and select a show to watch and streaming works perfect. I thought the Premier XL4 would need the Tivo Stream.
dkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,254
The Stream chip that is part of your Roamio is just like a standalone Stream that can serve up MRS streams from any series 4 or later unit.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:05 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,582
Yeah if you look at your router the Stream portion of the Roamio Pro even has it's own IP address. It's basically a separate device living in the same box.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:07 PM   #4
dkraft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
The Stream chip that is part of your Roamio is just like a standalone Stream that can serve up MRS streams from any series 4 or later unit.
I got it now! Thanks.
dkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:29 PM   #5
JasonD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 268
Can I stream from my roamio to my iPad anywhere in the world? Or do both devices need to be on the same network?
JasonD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:37 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,582
Right now same network. Out of home streaming isn't going live until this Fall.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 07:58 PM   #7
JasonD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 268
Thanks Dan looking forward to the update
JasonD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |