TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-15-2013, 01:42 AM   #1
Tab Bouc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Control of the new Roamio over TCP/IP

So, I've just converted one of my two TiVo HD XLs to a TiVo Roamio Pro. At first glance, it's a great device. Here is my problem. With the XDs (series 3), you could could control all of their basic features over IP and even get some analog feedback.

This worked really well as I have these wired into a home A/V distribution system & have a single control interface gui for the entire system (several video sources, several audio sources.)

To my dismay, it appears that TiVo has either changed this feature, or removed it from the new Roamio device. I would think this highly unlikely as there are several other applications that access it externally.

Does anyone know of any outfacing API that is in use for the new Roamio series? Have they done something with RESTful webservices or the like?

Thanks.
Tab Bouc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:31 AM   #2
PHeadland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 38
Remote control over the network still works in Roamio. You have to enable it somewhere in the Settings menus.
PHeadland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:40 AM   #3
takeagabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 97
I haven't double checked, but I think it's here:

Settings & Messages > Settings > Remote, CableCARD, & Devices > Network remote control
takeagabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,074
And, you had to do this on the Series 3, too. It's probably just been so long that you forgot.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:01 PM   #5
Tab Bouc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
I can't thank you guys enough for the quick responses. You were all spot on. Up & running now.

Thanks a ton.
Tab Bouc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |