TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-16-2014, 04:06 PM   #1
mwecksell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 25
Can't find my remote (finder button not working)

I have a Roamio Plus, and the "find my remote" button only works sporadically. Typically, it'll work if I've used the remote in the past few minutes, but not if I haven't, which is sort of useless: if I've used the remote recently, I know where it is.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get my Roamio to always wake up the remote and make it sing?

Thanks.

---matt

mwecksell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 06:47 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwecksell View Post
I have a Roamio Plus, and the "find my remote" button only works sporadically. Typically, it'll work if I've used the remote in the past few minutes, but not if I haven't, which is sort of useless: if I've used the remote recently, I know where it is.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get my Roamio to always wake up the remote and make it sing?

Thanks.

---matt
You must have a bad Roamio-Remote problem as I just tested my Roamio with the remote and it sang to me, I don't use the TiVo remote as I use a Harmony Remote, and the TiVo remote is in a side drawer unused for at least the last 6 months.

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:17 PM   #3
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwecksell View Post
I have a Roamio Plus, and the "find my remote" button only works sporadically. Typically, it'll work if I've used the remote in the past few minutes, but not if I haven't, which is sort of useless: if I've used the remote recently, I know where it is.
I'm having this problem as well. Did you ever find a solution?

__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere + Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2) + Premiere (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 01:39 AM   #4
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,242
I've noticed my remote finder no longer works either. I don't use it very often, so I really don't know when it stopped working.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 10:24 PM   #5
Phantom Gremlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tualatin, Oregon
Posts: 1,548
Yup. Same problem here, two Roamios and neither will locate their remote. Pushing the front panel causes the circle to glow, but only for as long as the button is held in.

This used to work so I wouldn't be surprised if this is a result of a recent software update.

Phantom Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 12:31 AM   #6
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,242
I tried mine a few days ago and it magically works again.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 12:06 PM   #7
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,009
Rebooting though the TiVo menus didn't fix this, but removing power to the TIVo for a few seconds did.

__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere + Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2) + Premiere (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:51 AM   #8
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,973
The remote finder on my Roamio works only once after a reboot, then no longer. Stinks because I rarely, rarely use it, but the other night I could not find the damn thing.

Anyone know of a solution?

My Mini with an RF dongle sings and sings. If I pair the Roamio RF remote to the Mini RF adapter, it works just fine, so I know the problem is not the remote.

__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:32 AM   #9
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,009
Mine stopped working again and I never pursued troubleshooting it with TiVo support. I'll give that a go one evening and see what they say.

__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premiere + Premiere XL4 + Mini (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2) + Premiere (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old Today, 10:59 AM   #10
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat View Post
Mine stopped working again and I never pursued troubleshooting it with TiVo support. I'll give that a go one evening and see what they say.
If you do, please report back here.

__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.
Page generated in 0.05919695 seconds (72.18% PHP - 27.82% MySQL) with 18 queries