TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-24-2015, 09:09 PM   #1
hanginghelmet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Recording start switches channel

I have a Tivo Roamio Plus. If I set a recording on one channel if I am watching another channel, when the recording starts Tivo switches the channel to the recording channel. I figured with this having 6 tuners it wouldnt do that. Is there a way to prevent this?

hanginghelmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 09:43 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,343
TC CLUB MEMBER
It would use the next available tuner and the one you are watching would be last.

Did you notice the recording lights? How many lights are showing?

Your cable card may not be up to date if its recording at most 4-5 channels instead of the full 6.

You can try testing the tuners. When it is not recording anything,

Press Record and then Select, it should start recording on whatever channel its on. Change to a different channel and repeat. See how many channels you can get until it complains at there are no more available tuners.

You can stop recording by pressing Record and select Stop Recording.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 09:26 AM   #3
BruinGuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 61
I was under the impression that the only function of a cable card is to decrypt the incoming stream.

BruinGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 10:25 AM   #4
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruinGuy View Post
I was under the impression that the only function of a cable card is to decrypt the incoming stream.
Only function is a little narrow. I feel it takes the raw feed and makes pretty numbers for the channels. It will, of course, decrypt a channel if authorized to do that. But channels don't have to be encrypted for the cable card to affect them.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 04:46 PM   #5
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,343
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruinGuy View Post
I was under the impression that the only function of a cable card is to decrypt the incoming stream.
Decrypt, map channels, authorizations, etc. The latest firmware would allow all 6 tuners whereas there were issues with 4+ tuners on earlier versions.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.
Page generated in 0.05681205 seconds (67.10% PHP - 32.90% MySQL) with 18 queries