TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-04-2014, 07:30 AM   #1
HazelW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: No. Va
Posts: 210
Romeo loses place for currently recording shows

I will sometimes watch a baseball game from the recorded shows while it is still recording. I then pause, go out of recorded shows and come back to the game later. Many times it will lose the paused point--there will be no "resume" option. This never happened on my XL4.
HazelW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 10:46 AM   #2
dbattaglia001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
It always happened on my xl4. Really annoying but have learned to live with it by trying to stop around a tick mark to easily return to point left off.
dbattaglia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 11:15 AM   #3
HazelW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: No. Va
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbattaglia001 View Post
It always happened on my xl4. Really annoying but have learned to live with it by trying to stop around a tick mark to easily return to point left off.
I should have said that I used the SD menus on the XL4, so maybe it happens on the HD menus only.
HazelW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 01:14 PM   #4
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by HazelW View Post
I will sometimes watch a baseball game from the recorded shows while it is still recording. I then pause, go out of recorded shows and come back to the game later. Many times it will lose the paused point--there will be no "resume" option. This never happened on my XL4.
If I start watching a currently recording show from the Live Buffer (i.e. I was watching live TV and tuned to the channel), it doesn't remember where I was if I exit out and go back in.

If I start watching a currently recording show from the Now Playing menu, it seems to always remember where I was.
__________________
Roamio Pro + Mini (x3)
Premier XL 4 + Mini (x2) + Premiere
Premiere (x2) + Series 3 OLED (x2)
Series 3 OLED (x2)
DirecTiVo (x3)
Series 1
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 01:36 PM   #5
humbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat View Post
If I start watching a currently recording show from the Now Playing menu, it seems to always remember where I was.
Yes, this has been my experience as well.
humbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 03:58 PM   #6
midas
I heard that
 
midas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 8,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat View Post
If I start watching a currently recording show from the Live Buffer (i.e. I was watching live TV and tuned to the channel), it doesn't remember where I was if I exit out and go back in.
IMO, this is how it should work. It can't remember where you were in the recording because you weren't really watching the recording. You were watching the buffer.

Quote:
If I start watching a currently recording show from the Now Playing menu, it seems to always remember where I was.
This hasn't been the case for me. I [almost] never watch from the live buffer, always from My Shows. And I had it happen last night. For me though, it only seems to happen on wishlist recordings. But that's also where I'm most likely to see it. In the case last night, I was watching a hockey game while it was recording. Eventually I reached the point where I was caught up with live so I stopped the recording and watched a 30 minute sitcom. When I went back to the hockey game it started from the beginning.

I wonder if it's actually the fact that the show is still recording, it's a wishlist or the fact that I caught up with live that's causing the issue.
midas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 09:30 PM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,575
I don't have any issues with my place being lost. But I don't pause it first. I will hit the live TV button before going to the My Shows list. I just did this several minutes ago with Continuum which is still recording. When I went to the show list and hit play while on the continuum episode, it started playing in the same spot where I left.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 10:12 PM   #8
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,836
This happens to me every now and then with non-Wishlist sports recordings. Not saying it can't happen with Wishlists, but I don't record sports with Wishlists. It could happen with non-sports recordings also, but sports is the only thing where I'll start watching, catch up, watch something else from MyShows, go back to sports(still recording). It's completely random and doesn't happen every time.
cherry ghost is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |