TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-02-2015, 05:01 PM   #1
im2blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 20
Tivo OTA NOOB! Questions?

Our Tivo OTA is still in the box and the Channel Master 3018 Antenna is assembled and sitting on the deck awaiting mounting brackets and coax from Amazon. My first question is will this box (OTA) work with the Tivo Slide Pro Remote? I don't know what comes with the OTA but I'm not fighting with the wife over the remote so I'm ordering another before I even get started. Thanks

im2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:06 PM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,317
Yes, bot are RF remotes an will work fine. Are you hoping to pair both remotes at the same time?

you might have to run one in IR mode - you can give that one to your wife!

__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:25 PM   #3
im2blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Yes, bot are RF remotes an will work fine. Are you hoping to pair both remotes at the same time?

you might have to run one in IR mode - you can give that one to your wife!
I hadn't considered pairing? I just assumed they would work like DirecTV does. humm. Thanks for the knowledge, she will get the IR she wouldn't know the difference anyway.lol

im2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:29 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 29,221
TC CLUB MEMBER
You can have more then one RF remote paired to a single TiVo. I have the original remote and a Slide Pro paired to mine. There is a limit, but I think it's like 6 remotes or something like that.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:34 PM   #5
im2blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You can have more then one RF remote paired to a single TiVo. I have the original remote and a Slide Pro paired to mine. There is a limit, but I think it's like 6 remotes or something like that.
Thanks Dan, so I don't need an extra IR usb adapter to use both remotes?

im2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:36 PM   #6
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,317
Nope, the Roamio ota has RF remote built in...

I wasn't quite sure how many remotes you could pair - good to know.

__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 09:49 PM   #7
phone man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 46
There's a Tivo app for ipods iphones etc. I use it on occasion as an extra remote. Even better you can schedule a program when you're away from home.

phone man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:09 AM   #8
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by phone man View Post
There's a Tivo app for ipods iphones etc. I use it on occasion as an extra remote. Even better you can schedule a program when you're away from home.
And it also features a keyboard so you don't really have to have a Slide Pro remote either.

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 03:48 AM   #9
Pacomartin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by im2blue View Post
I don't know what comes with the OTA but I'm not fighting with the wife over the remote so I'm ordering another before I even get started. Thanks
If someone can confirm that Android Ap works with the Roamio OTA, I would like to point out that a $50-$60 cheap android tablet will do everything that a $50 RF remote does, and a lot more. You can also schedule programming and do in home streaming.

__________________
RCN Premier Q Series 4, TCD750500 (4 tuner 500 Gb)
TiVo Preview (own tuner) instead of a Mini
Pacomartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 08:47 AM   #10
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,205
That is a weird question. Why wouldn't it? Same software all around.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 11:10 AM   #11
fred2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pacomartin View Post
If someone can confirm that Android Ap works with the Roamio OTA, I would like to point out that a $50-$60 cheap android tablet will do everything that a $50 RF remote does, and a lot more. You can also schedule programming and do in home streaming.
I've installed the Android app on my Blackberry Z10 (it runs both native Blackberry apps and SOME android apps). And I just changed my Basic Roamio (cable or ota) between 4 different channels. Other functions work, too. BUT, at least, on my Z10, the keyboard did not work when trying to "spell out" a show's name when FINDING something to watch. I could use the app's remote to move the cursor and spell things but the keyboard itself did not work.

fred2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.
Page generated in 0.08915401 seconds (83.17% PHP - 16.83% MySQL) with 18 queries