TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-22-2013, 11:07 AM   #61
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
That's my feeling too. You can save that CSR transcript and hope that TiVo honors those prices for a refurb replacement down the road but it's not in writing as a guarantee, which IS the case with an extended warranty.

I don't normally buy extended warranties, but on some items like cell phones (were damage is covered) or something like a TiVo that has a very high cost of replacement compared to the cost of the coverage it is something of a no brainer.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:09 PM   #62
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
In the past, the transfer cost has been $199, so that makes $348 for the "repair." There is NO guarantee that Tivo will continue to honor such a program either. I am not directly arguing for the warranty, but I thought that your post was misleading since it didn't quote the cost associated.
In the first 3 years TiVo will xfer the lifetime for the $149 price, the extra $199 lifetime xfer comes after 3 years for any TiVo exchange.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:13 PM   #63
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,007
edit
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:48 PM   #64
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
That's my feeling too. You can save that CSR transcript and hope that TiVo honors those prices for a refurb replacement down the road but it's not in writing as a guarantee, which IS the case with an extended warranty.

I don't normally buy extended warranties, but on some items like cell phones (were damage is covered) or something like a TiVo that has a very high cost of replacement compared to the cost of the coverage it is something of a no brainer.
Agreed....that's why I spent the $40 for the extended warranty. My wife and I will skip a dinner out to pay for it

With Lifetime, I didn't want to take the chance of not having it follow the box. With the warranty, you not only get the replacement for free, but the lifetime will transfer to it.

Now what no one at Tivo has been able to confirm is.....if I order another warranty on the replacement box (which they tell me I can do), and it fails again (within the 3 years), will they transfer the lifetime again. I've gotten mixed answers. Most however will say that if I end up having that much trouble....they'll work with me.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:15 PM   #65
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Agreed....that's why I spent the $40 for the extended warranty. My wife and I will skip a dinner out to pay for it

With Lifetime, I didn't want to take the chance of not having it follow the box. With the warranty, you not only get the replacement for free, but the lifetime will transfer to it.

Now what no one at Tivo has been able to confirm is.....if I order another warranty on the replacement box (which they tell me I can do), and it fails again (within the 3 years), will they transfer the lifetime again. I've gotten mixed answers. Most however will say that if I end up having that much trouble....they'll work with me.

-Kevin
TiVo does not to repair a 5 year old TiVo and xfer Lifetime for the $149 price, between a 3 and 5 year old TiVo they may work with you. YMMV
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 11:19 AM   #66
NJguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
You are not insuring the lifetime sub. If the TiVo fails outside of the 90 day warranty TiVo will charge you for the repair. Its actually done as a cross ship of a refurb unit to you and you return your dead TiVo. The subscription is transferred to the 'repaired' unit. Cost of the repair has been $149. You are spending $39 to insure against a $149 possible expenditure in the future. Not a good price at all.
After weighing options I happen to agree with this. After an online chat I found that if my Roamio becomes defective within 3 they will send a refurb for $149 and transfer the lifetime subscription to it. As someone else said, electronics are generally reliable so I'm going to take my chance and pass on the warranty.
NJguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 08:33 AM   #67
ShoutingMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJguy View Post
After weighing options I happen to agree with this. After an online chat I found that if my Roamio becomes defective within 3 they will send a refurb for $149 and transfer the lifetime subscription to it. As someone else said, electronics are generally reliable so I'm going to take my chance and pass on the warranty.
That's interesting, since that's not what I was told by TiVo csr.
ShoutingMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 08:31 AM   #68
NJguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoutingMan View Post
That's interesting, since that's not what I was told by TiVo csr.
I have the online chat as my backup. Do the online chat and then save it. It goes into your account too but I would also save it just in case as I don't know if those stay in my account with TiVo forever since I'm new to this.
NJguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #69
tooslo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Do I have to buy my Roamio directly from Tivo to sign up for the extended warranty? I was going to buy from Amazon and wanted to make sure I could still get the $40 warranty.
tooslo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 11:11 AM   #70
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooslo View Post
Do I have to buy my Roamio directly from Tivo to sign up for the extended warranty? I was going to buy from Amazon and wanted to make sure I could still get the $40 warranty.
You can still get the TiVo extended warranty even if you buy the TiVo from an online or Brick and mortar store.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:27 AM   #71
siratfus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
How does tivo deal with you swapping out hard drives? Lets say you do have their extended warranty, but you don't want that "1 time use" to be used. You know it's a hard drive issue and you replace it yourself. The tivo functions fine, then down the road, it really fails and this time it's not because of hard drive. You decide to execute your "1 time use" warranty. When tivo opens it up and realize you swapped hard drives, will they void the extended warranty?
siratfus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 10:12 AM   #72
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus View Post
How does tivo deal with you swapping out hard drives? Lets say you do have their extended warranty, but you don't want that "1 time use" to be used. You know it's a hard drive issue and you replace it yourself. The tivo functions fine, then down the road, it really fails and this time it's not because of hard drive. You decide to execute your "1 time use" warranty. When tivo opens it up and realize you swapped hard drives, will they void the extended warranty?
Most people put the original hard drive back in and normally TiVo does not check, but if they do the hard drive check you could have a problem, I have nor heard of any problems in this area.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:01 AM   #73
pautler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 54
As a general rule I never buy extended warranties, and instead use all of the money that I save to "self insure" against possible failures.

With that being said, I DID make an exception to my own rule and I purchased the TiVo warranty. I have a Roamio basic and two minis, with lifetime service subscriptions on all of them.

I figured my "break even" point with the hardware and lifetime service was approximatley 23 months (as opposed to paying the monthly service fee). With the warranty added on my break even point became 29 months. The warranty gives me piece of mind that I don't have to worry about any system failures until after I get well past my break even point. That's how I justified it.

As others have said, the warranty cost on the Roamio itself seems quite reasonable, but the warranty cost on the minis seems too high. I bought the warranty on 1 mini, but not the other one. With my luck, it will be the one without the extra warranty that will have a problem. LOL

-Joe
pautler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 01:38 PM   #74
tamathat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagobrownblue View Post
Regardless, put the Roamie on a good surge suppressor, I think my TiVo Premiere was fried out by some residual lighting in the cable system I am on. It was dead and TiVo had no suggestions. I unplugged it for a day and then it came back from the dead. It is now on a surge suppressor but I still have not routed the coax from the wall through the surge suppressor to the TiVo. My bad.
I have a premier that failed to boot this weekend after I changed out the tuning adapter (seemingly unrelated but Tivo CSR believes caused the issue). Fingers crossed it comes back from the dead.. but great point on the coax surge, i totally forgot to do that.. I'm going to surge protect is at the wall instead of at the tivo because it has a y adapter and supplies my cable modem too.
tamathat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:01 PM   #75
chicagobrownblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamathat View Post
... but great point on the coax surge, i totally forgot to do that.. I'm going to surge protect is at the wall instead of at the tivo because it has a y adapter and supplies my cable modem too.
So I never did put a coax filter on my Premiere. The power went out last week and when it came back on my Premiere was fried. Fortunately for the TCF thread on Best Buy price match with Amazon and $50 Best Buy gift certificate I now own a Roamio basic.

I've been cursed recently. My initial install of the Roamio went fine but I was missing a lot of channels. I started guided setup from scratch the next day only to have it fail repeatedly. Turns out TiVo was having an issue with their system. Once this was resolved, I chose the right channel lineup and all is well.

The Roamio is on a coax filter now.
chicagobrownblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:16 AM   #76
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagobrownblue View Post
So I never did put a coax filter on my Premiere. The power went out last week and when it came back on my Premiere was fried. Fortunately for the TCF thread on Best Buy price match with Amazon and $50 Best Buy gift certificate I now own a Roamio basic.

I've been cursed recently. My initial install of the Roamio went fine but I was missing a lot of channels. I started guided setup from scratch the next day only to have it fail repeatedly. Turns out TiVo was having an issue with their system. Once this was resolved, I chose the right channel lineup and all is well.

The Roamio is on a coax filter now.
What coax filter are you using ?
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:24 AM   #77
chicagobrownblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
What coax filter are you using ?
It's built into my battery backup. I did find these online though:

https://www.mjsales.net/items.asp?Fa...266&Cat2ID=125

https://www.mjsales.net/items.asp?Fa...266&Cat2ID=125
chicagobrownblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 03:50 PM   #78
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagobrownblue View Post
The on-line units are just to block DC voltage not lighting protection.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:10 PM   #79
Elgato54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 33
I am ready to buy a warranty.
Tivo or Squaretrade?

Does Weaknees sell them?
Elgato54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 08:05 PM   #80
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
Tivo
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:41 AM   #81
chicagobrownblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
What you want is an inline coax suppressor with a ceramic fuse. Put it inline at the coax ingress point of your residence and everything is covered in one place. They are about $20 shipped and highly worth it as coax is a common entry point for electrical surges.
Just now found this:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002KR7EK/...I2LZF11IGLH17F
__________________
Chicago
Roamio Basic
Tivo Premiere M-Card
RCN Signature HD but no premium channels
Panasonic TC-42PX14 42" 720p plasma HDTV
Sony BDP-S360 Blu-ray Player Refurb $59
chicagobrownblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:01 PM   #82
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elgato54 View Post
I am ready to buy a warranty.
Tivo or Squaretrade?

Does Weaknees sell them?
Squaretrade does have a 4-year warranty they make available for a Tivo, though you have to buy it from Amazon directly:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008I64N2Y/ (warranty for a MSRP-priced Roamio Pro)
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:04 PM   #83
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagobrownblue View Post
Not sure how good it is, but probably better than nothing. The APC one is VERY good but very hard to find now as they have stopped making it.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:06 PM   #84
shrike4242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Not sure how good it is, but probably better than nothing. The APC one is VERY good but very hard to find now as they have stopped making it.
Here are some other options:

http://www.l-com.com/surge-protector-coaxial-protectors

Last edited by shrike4242 : 01-14-2014 at 12:20 PM.
shrike4242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:27 PM   #85
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrike4242 View Post
Well, you don't even know what it is with a description like this;

Quote:
HyperLink's Quarter Wave DC-Short Suppressors are designed to pass the desired frequency while suppressing lightning surges
As an engineer it does not tell me anything. There are no real specifications there for how many joules it absorbs or how it does it. Unless I take it apart and look at what is inside of it, it could just be nothing but a cheap splitter.

This is what a spec sheet for a surge device should look like;

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...fm?base_sku=PV

There were a few places still selling that protector a few months ago but looks like they've dried up. I should have bought a few spares at that time.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 02:12 PM   #86
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Well this little conversation got me to check around some more and I was able to scoop up a pair of the APC units on eBay for $30 so thanks for bumping the thread.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:22 PM   #87
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,664
I'm glad I don't need to mess around with them on FiOS. When I had Comcast and DirecTV I ran the coax through a Monster surge protector before going to the rest of my condo. I got rid of DirectV in 2007 and got Comcast, but also got FiOS in 2007. But the last time I had Comcast was in 2009 so I have not needed to use it since then.

EDIT: I forgot. I still run my OTA line through one.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 11:42 AM   #88
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Well, you don't even know what it is with a description like this;



As an engineer it does not tell me anything. There are no real specifications there for how many joules it absorbs or how it does it. Unless I take it apart and look at what is inside of it, it could just be nothing but a cheap splitter.

This is what a spec sheet for a surge device should look like;

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...fm?base_sku=PV

There were a few places still selling that protector a few months ago but looks like they've dried up. I should have bought a few spares at that time.

How do these specs look to you (or anyone else that knows about these things):

http://tiinetworktechnologies.com/re...DS036-0710.pdf

I'm thinking about getting one of these for my home, but I'd like to know if they are any good first.

Last edited by tarheelblue32 : 01-16-2014 at 11:52 AM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 12:17 PM   #89
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
How do these specs look to you (or anyone else that knows about these things):

http://tiinetworktechnologies.com/re...DS036-0710.pdf

I'm thinking about getting one of these for my home, but I'd like to know if they are any good first.
Well, it's certainly better than nothing since in a high current situation it shunts the common and center conductors to the ground. It's much slower than the APC during high current event. The APC shunts in under one nanosecond and this one looks like it might take about 10-20 microseconds to do so.

Like I said, it's better than having no surge protection.

It also says it operates up to 1ghz, not sure if that's good enough for MoCA, but since should be installed at the point of entry to the home it should be fine.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 01:21 PM   #90
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
Well, it's certainly better than nothing since in a high current situation it shunts the common and center conductors to the ground. It's much slower than the APC during high current event. The APC shunts in under one nanosecond and this one looks like it might take about 10-20 microseconds to do so.

Like I said, it's better than having no surge protection.

It also says it operates up to 1ghz, not sure if that's good enough for MoCA, but since should be installed at the point of entry to the home it should be fine.
Well, better than nothing might have to do. I am open to other suggestions, but the APC one is no longer manufactured and as you appear to have cleaned out the stock on ebay, it won't be easy to find.

Last edited by tarheelblue32 : 01-16-2014 at 02:04 PM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |