TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-11-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
KnordRW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Posts: 27
Roamio Pro software update 9/11?

I forced a connection on one of my Roamio Pros this evening, and it downloaded an update. After the reboot and install, it shows version 20.3.6.1. I don't see anything different.... anyone else get this version? Any idea what the update is for?
KnordRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:28 PM   #2
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,001
I don't remember my old Roamio Pro (which died about two weeks ago) having the Television Brands spread apart when going into the Remote Control Setup.

I remember picking the only Samsung entry and being amazed at the number of remote control codes on the screen.

Got my replacement Pro tonight, and the Television Brands screen has a lot of brands in there multiple times, like SAMSUNG (1 OF 2) and then SAMSUNG (2 OF 2). My remote code is in the middle of SAMSUNG (2 OF 2). I remember it being the first code when it only said SAMSUNG.

Unless I'm totally losing my mind, that's new?
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:34 PM   #3
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 346
May just be a quick update to correct whatever problem was causing new boxes to not have any sort of activation grace period.

The issue is probably not a big deal for repeat TiVo customers, but may be a problem with brand new customers.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:42 PM   #4
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 305
I was looking at something else and realized I had a pending restart, then restarted and it updated (Roamio Basic).

Went from 20.3.6-USA-6-846 to 20.3.6.1-USA-6-846.
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:50 PM   #5
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 305
I wonder if this post

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...33#post9787133

explains the update we just got.
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:15 AM   #6
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 263
Two important fixes in this release:

- reboots related to Netflix with 1080p
- reboots related to Pandora

It is being released to both Roamio and TiVo Mini.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:48 AM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,502
Great!! So after the update I'll be able to select 1080P24 output for my Minis.
Thanks.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:04 AM   #8
sterfry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belmont, NC
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

I didn't have any issues with rebooting while exiting Netflix before the update but I couldn't get out of Pandora without a reboot. The update has solved the Pandora issue for my Roamio Basic.
sterfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:08 AM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,502
I just forced a connection on both of my Minis. It must have downloaded the update because I got the pending restart notification.

I guess I'll force a connection on my Roamio Pro too.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:37 AM   #10
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Two important fixes in this release:

- reboots related to Netflix with 1080p
- reboots related to Pandora

It is being released to both Roamio and TiVo Mini.
Thanks for those details Margret!
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:16 AM   #11
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Two important fixes in this release:

- reboots related to Netflix with 1080p
- reboots related to Pandora

It is being released to both Roamio and TiVo Mini.
Thanks for the details. Any update on the issue with certain green ethernet switches and the Roamio?
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:38 AM   #12
Headford
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Pandora floating album artwork screensaver gone

Thanks for the details on the update.

I experienced the Pandora reboots and the long-lag time it took to go from the main Pandora screen to a station-specific screen. Both seem fixed.

However ...

The floating album artwork screensaver that automatically kicked in after a few minutes of inaction is gone.

It was a nice feature not to have the text-intensive screen showing all the time (and a necessity for those who have plasma TVs).

Back to using the Roku. Too bad, it was nice to be able to switch from TV to music all on the one box.
Headford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:29 PM   #13
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
I have the update too. I do not have any issues so will just look around.
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:06 AM   #14
Headford
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
The Pandora screensaver is back. Thank you!
Headford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:20 AM   #15
bbrown9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Two important fixes in this release:

- reboots related to Netflix with 1080p
- reboots related to Pandora

It is being released to both Roamio and TiVo Mini.
This is disappointing. I have the update and just last night I got a reboot when exiting Netflix after watching the last episode of Haven season 3. I don't know what resolution it was using, but I doubt it was 1080p. Looks like there is another bug there.

Also, my husband saw a reboot after pressing the TiVo button while watching live TV. He can't remember if it was yesterday or the day before
bbrown9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:15 PM   #16
bbrown9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 141
reboot when exiting netflix not fixed

My pro rebooted tonight when exiting Netflix. I confirmed a few days ago that I have the 20.3.6.1 update. I don't think this is fixed.
bbrown9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |