TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-16-2014, 08:03 PM   #1
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,605
Will the Roamio pro remote turn off a yamaha amp and tv

I have a Yamaha receiver and a sony tv. Can I use the tivo remote to turn on and off a Yamaha receiver and tv? I would like it to control the sound with receiver.
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:06 PM   #2
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by caddyroger View Post
I have a Yamaha receiver and a sony tv. Can I use the tivo remote to turn on and off a Yamaha receiver and tv? I would like it to control the sound with receiver.
Yes. http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/294
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:18 PM   #3
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrizzo80 View Post
Can this be set up to turn both on or off at the same time?
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 11:31 PM   #4
aridon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 218
If you figure it out let me know. I haven't been able to.
aridon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 10:20 AM   #5
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 776
Yes you can set up your TiVo remote to control your TV and stereo receiver. You need to find the remote codes for your TV and stereo receiver under TiVo's remote setup screens.

Go to the remote setup section under settings.
a) Perform Part 1 to set up control for your TV.
b) Perform Part 2 to set up volume control for your receiver. (Remember the receiver code you just used)
c) Now perform Part 1 again but this time use the code for your receiver that you used in Part 2. It will now set up the on/off power for your stereo receiver.

Your TiVo remote will now toggle on/off of both your TV and stereo receiver at the same time and control the volume & mute for your stereo receiver.
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:50 PM   #6
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Yes you can set up your TiVo remote to control your TV and stereo receiver. You need to find the remote codes for your TV and stereo receiver under TiVo's remote setup screens.

Go to the remote setup section under settings.
a) Perform Part 1 to set up control for your TV.
b) Perform Part 2 to set up volume control for your receiver. (Remember the receiver code you just used)
c) Now perform Part 1 again but this time use the code for your receiver that you used in Part 2. It will now set up the on/off power for your stereo receiver.

Your TiVo remote will now toggle on/off of both your TV and stereo receiver at the same time and control the volume & mute for your stereo receiver.
Thank You, so much for this, it actually does work,

This also worked on my standard peanut remote.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by CoxInPHX : 06-17-2014 at 07:58 PM.
CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:59 PM   #7
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Yes you can set up your TiVo remote to control your TV and stereo receiver. You need to find the remote codes for your TV and stereo receiver under TiVo's remote setup screens.

Go to the remote setup section under settings.
a) Perform Part 1 to set up control for your TV.
b) Perform Part 2 to set up volume control for your receiver. (Remember the receiver code you just used)
c) Now perform Part 1 again but this time use the code for your receiver that you used in Part 2. It will now set up the on/off power for your stereo receiver.

Your TiVo remote will now toggle on/off of both your TV and stereo receiver at the same time and control the volume & mute for your stereo receiver.
I finally got to it to work. I used the wrong code for the receiver.
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |