TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2014, 03:09 PM   #1
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Best NAS for streaming

I'm thinking about replacing my Windows Home Server (ex495) with something a little more modern. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm looking for something that either comes with the ability to stream recordings to a Roamio or something that I can run pyTivo on to do the same.

I found at least one thread talking about pyTivo on Syncology (here), but they didn't go into detail about which model they were using. There's this one as well (here), but it's more than 2 years old.

Thanks,
Jeff
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 03:12 PM   #2
csell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 205
Obviously pyTivo works great with Tivo, but if you are going to get a NAS, I would also consider putting Plex server on it (you can certainly have both on it). You may not use Plex now, but if you are building a streaming video server, you will want Plex one day.
csell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 03:17 PM   #3
Random User 7
Incognito
 
Random User 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 126
FreeNAS
Random User 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 11:11 PM   #4
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random User 7 View Post
The diskless is like twice the price of a drobo.. (I've never used a drobo, and AFAIK, they DON'T run apps.. but the bunch-of-disks + RAIDness is what I'm mostly interested in.. running pytivo or streambaby _on_ it would be nice but not worth $500)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:58 AM   #5
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random User 7 View Post
FreeNAS would be cool, but I'm kind of over the whole "build it and maintain it myself stage in my life," and a prebuilt model costs a crapload (for no apparent reason as near as I can tell).
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:00 AM   #6
WSZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
WDMyCloud works great! About $179 for 3gbs
WSZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:22 AM   #7
Random User 7
Incognito
 
Random User 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 126
FreeNAS can be installed on any old PC you have laying around. You don't need to buy their hardware.
Random User 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:24 AM   #8
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,005
My Synology 1511 is still running great. I had pytivo and vidmgr running on it for a while, but it is much easier FOR ME to run them on an old low power laptop that is doing other things anyway. It also runs streambaby. The NAS has been very reliable, fast very power efficient and easy to upgrade along the way. It started with only 4TB in a single redundancy mode. Now runs 48TB in dual redundancy and has capacity to expand out to 78 using currently available 6TB drives.

Think about future expansion capabilities when choosing. These options cost a bit more up front but will be cheaper than starting over when you run out of space. Also the online volume expansion features are great to have. Synology servers also do a lot of other things you may be interested in with installable packages. DLNA and Plex among them but I have never seen the usefulness of Plex for me.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by jcthorne : 11-14-2014 at 06:34 AM.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 08:39 AM   #9
mschnebly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 17
My QNAP has been very reliable over the years.
mschnebly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 10:22 PM   #10
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
48 TB? Yow, that's a LOT of HD!
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 07:39 PM   #11
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSZ View Post
WDMyCloud works great! About $179 for 3gbs

Do you have pytivo running on it?


Sent from my iPad using the free version of Tapatalk
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:51 AM   #12
bunjicat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 62
I had Synology and now currently use Qnap. Synology works fine, but you have to cobble together the code and start/stop scripts to get it to work properly. Also, every firmware update would break it. Qnap has a one stop shop app you install for pytivo and it just works. Been using now for 2 months. Had a couple of Qnap firmware updates, and it just works. I am running on a TS-251. mp4's transfer over quick as there is now transcoding involved. With anything else I have to plan on transcoding half the movie before I can watch it all the way through.
bunjicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 09:17 AM   #13
WSZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKusnitz View Post
Do you have pytivo running on it?


Sent from my iPad using the free version of Tapatalk
No. I stream to my WDTV Live and my Sonos system. No idea what pytivo is.
WSZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 11:29 AM   #14
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,061
for a ready to go NAS, nothing beats Synology IMO. I have the 1512+ and it has been just amazing. Access from anywhere, whole suite of apps to stream or manage/download data from your phone. Love it.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 01:46 PM   #15
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 322
Have to agree with b_scott. I've owned several NAS devices, and Synology are my favorite.
ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 03:49 PM   #16
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,651
I'm with the OP, with an older WHS that will need to be replaced, but enjoy the use of pytivo to serve content.

How difficult is it to get pytivo working on these Synology devices?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 05:26 PM   #17
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,061
Probably easier just to get a Chrome Cast for $35 and then open the DS video app on your phone to play videos to your TV. Instead of dealing with pytivo maybe working.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 07:53 PM   #18
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Probably easier just to get a Chrome Cast for $35 and then open the DS video app on your phone to play videos to your TV. Instead of dealing with pytivo maybe working.

The problem with a chromecast is that much of what is on my WHS is in .tivo format; I've never gone to the trouble of decoding it. Maybe I'll spend time over the holidays doing just that.

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 12:36 PM   #19
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,061
oh ok. I thought you were using pytivo to play videos that needed to be converted. Can't you just transfer them back to your Tivo with Tivo Desktop?
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 11:02 PM   #20
Logic129
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 4
Has anyone tried installing pytivo on a Drobo 5n?
Logic129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 03:55 PM   #21
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
oh ok. I thought you were using pytivo to play videos that needed to be converted. Can't you just transfer them back to your Tivo with Tivo Desktop?

Not easily - I don't have a Windows computer running TiVo desktop.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 02:27 PM   #22
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,167
I have pyTivo running on a My Cloud: http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/forum/...oud-t2755.html

Pretty trivial to set up, as usual with pyTivo. I haven't yet set it up to run at startup, though. (I'll post to that thread when I do.)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 07:49 PM   #23
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I have pyTivo running on a My Cloud: http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/forum/...oud-t2755.html

Which model cloud did you get?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 12:02 AM   #24
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKusnitz View Post
Which model cloud did you get?
I don't think there are different models, apart from the drive size? I got 4TB.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 02:39 AM   #25
JeffKusnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I don't think there are different models, apart from the drive size? I got 4TB.
There are 4 different versions - My Cloud, My Cloud Mirror, My Cloud EX2 and My Cloud EX4. They have different features, different CPU speeds, etc.
JeffKusnitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |