TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2013, 08:20 AM   #1
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Programming Remote

I want to be able to do the following with the Tivo remote.

1. Turn TV on/off
2. Turn A/V receiver on/off
3. Change volume on receiver

Can the Tivo remote be programmed to do this?

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:09 AM   #2
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 770
Yes it can, I've done it using a regular remote for my S3 and stereo receiver. You need to find the codes for your TV and stereo receiver under the remote setup screens.

Go to the remote setup section under settings.
a) Perform Part 1 to set up control for your TV.
b) Perform Part 2 to set up volume control for your receiver. (Remember the receiver code you just used)
c) Now perform Part 1 again but this time use the code for your receiver. It will now set up the on/off power for your stereo receiver.
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:10 AM   #3
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
To better clarify the situation,

I use the TV as a monitor only with a single HDMI cable.
The A/V receiver is used to switch input sources.

The only TV functionality I require is on/off.

The A/V currently switches Tivo, AppleTV, DVD, Comcast HDDVR.
I have a programmable remote I use to control all the devices.

I am replacing Tivo and Comcast with RoamioPro.
So, I rarely use the DVD player so do not need it controlled by Tivo remote.
I use the AppleTV remote when viewing so only need to be able to switch A/V.
Not critical since I again do not use more than a few times a week.

So, that leaves Tivo.
Other than the TV, I would like to turn the A/V on/off, program a button to set the A/V input to the Tivo HDMI, control A/V volume.
I think the key here is programming a button to set the A/V input. I don't want a toggle input button since it's hard to tell from the sofa.

Does the RoamioPro remote have any learning features?

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:12 AM   #4
Bphagan
brettdog
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
worachj,
Thanks. I posted before I saw your response.

Sounds like the TV and A/V will both be controlled by the same power button?
Is there a way to set the input on the A/V receiver?

bdog
Bphagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:28 AM   #5
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 770
Yes the on/off for both the TV and A/V will be controlled by the power button.

I know part 3 sets up the input control for the TV, so maybe try part 3 and use the code for your A/V instead.
__________________
S2, S3, TiVo Hd, Premiere, Roamio Basic all with lifetime service.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:23 PM   #6
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bphagan View Post
I want to be able to do the following with the Tivo remote.

1. Turn TV on/off
2. Turn A/V receiver on/off
3. Change volume on receiver

Can the Tivo remote be programmed to do this?

bdog
As long as the Roamio Pro has a learning remote, you can do this. The key is to get the tivo remote to send out the power on/off signal to two distinct pieces of equipment at the same time. The instructions are at tivo.com. http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/278

The basics are:

Learning remotes can control power for up to three different devices.

To learn power for a second device, follow all of the instructions above but for Step 2, press the number 1 before pressing TV Power.
To learn power for a third device, follow all of the instructions above but for Step 2, press the number 2 before pressing TV Power.

I don't know if the above will work for a non learning remote, but it's worth a try

Last edited by poppagene : 10-08-2013 at 12:33 PM.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |