TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2013, 05:34 AM   #1
Hi8
TiVoPro - wanabe!
 
Hi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
How often does TiVo NEED to update?

I've got two TiVo(s) (OLED S3) that are going to be setup in our vacation home in Florida.

I really don't want to leave them powered up 24/7 because the home will not be occupied for months on end...

I'm going to be connecting a timer or a Belkin WeMo to each to power each TiVo up to get it's daily database update.

Would once a week be enough or can I go once a month?

__________________
~Hi8

(3) TiVo THX HD S3
(1) Roamio - Basic 3TB
(1) PremiereXL4 & (1) TiVo Mini
Hi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 05:57 AM   #2
MScottC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 676
I would think once a week would be fine. Typically the TiVo loads guide data out about 2 weeks.

MScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:10 AM   #3
FJFbHj356y
PeterNE
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
If you aren't going to be recording anything, why even power up the devices?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi8 View Post
I've got two TiVo(s) (OLED S3) that are going to be setup in our vacation home in Florida.

I really don't want to leave them powered up 24/7 because the home will not be occupied for months on end...

I'm going to be connecting a timer or a Belkin WeMo to each to power each TiVo up to get it's daily database update.

Would once a week be enough or can I go once a month?

FJFbHj356y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:31 AM   #4
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Yeah, if you're not going to be recording anything, I think you can go as long as 180 days.
IIRC, A Tivo only needs to connect every 180 days in order to keep the subscription status active.

__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:53 AM   #5
MScottC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by FJFbHj356y View Post
If you aren't going to be recording anything, why even power up the devices?
So you have guide data available when you walk back in the door when you first return to the house.

MScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 08:34 AM   #6
philhu
User Since Day ONE!
 
philhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Funcity, MA
Posts: 738
put it on a timer

Turn it on every monday morning at 2am for 4 hours

__________________
-----------------
S1 Phillips-ret
S1 Sony SVR-2000-ret
S2-500gb HD, 2 units-ret
TivoHD-2tb, chip mod, 2 units
Premiere-2tb JMFS
Premiere4-2tb JMFS-ret
Roamio Plus-4tb Comm Img
philhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:33 AM   #7
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Yeah, if you're not going to be recording anything, I think you can go as long as 180 days.
IIRC, A Tivo only needs to connect every 180 days in order to keep the subscription status active.
The 180 days is only if a Tivo has a lifetime subscription that qualifies other Tivos for the discounted MSD subscription rate. As long as no other Tivos depend on it for MSD, a lifetime tivo can go indefinitely w/o connecting and nothing will be affected by it. When the Tivo eventually does make a connection again, it will still have lifetime.

__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
- Assuming based on evidence is not the same as knowing.
- If you want to argue with me at least use some actual facts instead of making it up.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:59 AM   #8
True Colors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 431
If you are not going to use the Tivos whatsoever for several months at a time then I would suggest that you unplug them completely during that time span as opposed to turning them on and off again every week or every month.

TC

True Colors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.
Page generated in 0.06784391 seconds (76.93% PHP - 23.07% MySQL) with 18 queries