TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-05-2013, 05:08 PM   #1
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,114
Beta Testers for new Roamio features

TiVo is looking for beta testers for new services on the Roamio line of DVR's

https://fieldtrials.tivo.com/signup/default.html
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:13 PM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,114
From Margret


Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivo.JPG (15.9 KB, 476 views)
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
TiVo is looking for beta testers for new services on the Roamio line of DVR's

https://fieldtrials.tivo.com/signup/default.html
Where does it indicate beta testing for new Roamio services? I believe I have already signed up for Field Testing using this link.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:16 PM   #4
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
Where does it indicate beta testing for new Roamio services? I believe I have already signed up for Field Testing using this link.
Added her post from Twitter... Looking at the link, it looks like you will need to add your new Roamio as a specific test device if you want to be considered for the program.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:20 PM   #5
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
Where does it indicate beta testing for new Roamio services? I believe I have already signed up for Field Testing using this link.
I doesn't. The OP is incorrect. This is the standard Tivo 'beta testers' sign up site and there's no guarantee you'll be selected.
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:28 PM   #6
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,114
The OP is not incorrect.

I do not believe I ever said you would be automatically included in the beta program - I just reported that TiVo is advertising for Roamio owners to register for the program.

Quote:
After you have completed the registration you will enter our beta community. Once there, you should register your "Test Platforms." Test Platforms are all of your home TiVo boxes and home PC's. Please add all TiVo boxes to the "TiVo Box (new)" platform profile (create a new form for each), and be sure to ACCURATELY enter your TiVo Serial Number (TSN). This information is vital to our beta selection process.
Even if you have already signed up for the program, you still need to add your Roamio as a test platform - if you do not, you will not be considered for the program to "Try out new Roamio features"
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 09-05-2013 at 05:34 PM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:30 PM   #7
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,897
I upgraded the HD on mine other wise I would be all over this
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:35 PM   #8
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
I do not believe I ever said you would be automatically included in the beta program - I just reported that TiVo is advertising for Roamio owners to register for the program.
I didn't say you did. I added information about the beta pgm for newbies.
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:41 PM   #9
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by TC25D View Post
The OP is incorrect
Not to be a pain - I usually shy away from it. But you said I was incorrect...

In what form was I incorrect?

I stated:
  • TiVo is looking for Beta Testers for the Roamio line
  • I added TiVo Margrets Tweet indicating that they wanted beta testers for the Roamio line with the link to apply.
  • I added a quote from the link indicating that you had to specifically add a device for it to be included.

I was not, and am not incorrect - if you want your unmodified device to be considered for inclusion in the beta program, you will need to register that specific deivice.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:58 PM   #10
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Not to be a pain - I usually shy away from it.
Yeah, I can tell you're really shy about this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
But you said I was incorrect...In what form was I incorrect?

I stated:
  • TiVo is looking for Beta Testers for the Roamio line
  • I added TiVo Margrets Tweet indicating that they wanted beta testers for the Roamio line with the link to apply.
  • I added a quote from the link indicating that you had to specifically add a device for it to be included.

I was not, and am not incorrect -
You were and are incorrect. The first two items in your list are reading into what Margret tweeted.

While Margret's tweet was to Roamio owners, there's nothing in her tweet that indicates the beta software is only for the Roamio owners.
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:01 PM   #11
anthonymoody
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 195
Thanks! Signed up and registered my Roamio..
anthonymoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:52 PM   #12
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,327
I removed all my stuff last year. I didn't have the time to deal with it at the time and I needed to spend close to an hour a day testing the features they wanted me too. I'm not going to sign up for this with the Roamio Pro. Especially since I only have one Roamio Pro. if there are issues with the beta i could be screwed with only one box. When I was testing before I used my secondary and Tertiary TiVos for testing.

I'll just wait for the new features to arrive in a year or two.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:26 PM   #13
berg0449
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
It never hurts to sign up. If they choose you for beta testing, you then have the choice to agree or not for the beta test. At that link you are just putting your system in the hat to be picked.
berg0449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:15 PM   #14
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by berg0449 View Post
It never hurts to sign up. If they choose you for beta testing, you then have the choice to agree or not for the beta test. At that link you are just putting your system in the hat to be picked.
If you have a self installed hard drive upgrade in the past TiVo would not consider you for any beta program, has this changed for the Roamio ?
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:20 PM   #15
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I removed all my stuff last year. I didn't have the time to deal with it at the time and I needed to spend close to an hour a day testing the features they wanted me too. I'm not going to sign up for this with the Roamio Pro. Especially since I only have one Roamio Pro. if there are issues with the beta i could be screwed with only one box. When I was testing before I used my secondary and Tertiary TiVos for testing.

I'll just wait for the new features to arrive in a year or two.
I don't know if I will apply either. If I had two Pros, I would consider signing one up, but with the Pro replacing my Elite as the primary box I think I will pass this time.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:27 AM   #16
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
I don't know if I will apply either. If I had two Pros, I would consider signing one up, but with the Pro replacing my Elite as the primary box I think I will pass this time.
I didn't apply either. At this point, I need my Tivo's to perform, Pro, Elite, HD, all of them. A beta test that introduced reboots or other erratic behavior would not be acceptable for me. It could be fun/exciting/interesting for those that have the time or hardware to spare. I wouldn't be able to do the program justice however.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 03:58 AM   #17
zundian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
If you have a self installed hard drive upgrade in the past TiVo would not consider you for any beta program, has this changed for the Roamio ?
I've been in a number of trials with my upgraded TiVoHD and Premiere, I've never heard anything about this.
zundian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 04:07 AM   #18
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by zundian View Post
I've been in a number of trials with my upgraded TiVoHD and Premiere, I've never heard anything about this.
This is something they started in the last few years. Since you have a TiVo HD I assume you haven't been in a beta for a while, since all recent betas have been for Premiere units.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 05:33 AM   #19
zundian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
I was in the beta for the Mini... last year, I think*?

I actually had to drop out because we only had one TV at that point**

*Back when it was still the "Preview" Wow, that was almost three years ago?
**Both the Premiere and the TiVoHD were both hooked up to it, though.
zundian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:37 AM   #20
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
I think everyone that already owns a Roamio is kinda a beta tester.
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:03 AM   #21
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by zundian View Post
I've been in a number of trials with my upgraded TiVoHD and Premiere, I've never heard anything about this.
I signed up for the beta testing back when the TivoHD was introduced. Even back then, there was wording in the docs that said you could be ineligible for participation if your hard drive was upgraded.
On top of that, if the beta software happened to brick your Tivo, you were SOL on getting support to fix it.

You took a big risk.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:46 AM   #22
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
I signed up for the beta testing back when the TivoHD was introduced. Even back then, there was wording in the docs that said you could be ineligible for participation if your hard drive was upgraded.
On top of that, if the beta software happened to brick your Tivo, you were SOL on getting support to fix it.

You took a big risk.
In the original beta testing TiVo even asked if you had upgraded the drive and how big a drive you were using, then for some reason TiVo made anybody ineligible for beta if your drive was upgraded (DIY).
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:53 AM   #23
ufo4sale
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Plainview NY 11803
Posts: 3,273
Talk about honoring a NDA agreement.
__________________
Life is but a window, Time is but a door, I'll be back.
Your future world leader at work again. ; )
ufo4sale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:17 AM   #24
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufo4sale View Post
Talk about honoring a NDA agreement.
Huh? So far, I've read nothing that would violate TiVo's NDA agreement.

If I understand correctly, it's not against the NDA to admit to being in the beta program.
You just can't talk about the subject of the beta test you are/were participating in.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:21 AM   #25
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
If I understand correctly, it's not against the NDA to admit to being in the beta program.
it is...not that i've been in any betas or anything
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:03 PM   #26
berg0449
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufo4sale View Post
Talk about honoring a NDA agreement.
For tivo even admitting you are part of the beta, have ever been part of a beta, or that one you know exists, can break the NDA. I have heard they take any violation serious.
berg0449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 01:48 PM   #27
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,635
The wording about being ineligible if you've upgraded is in the invitation email, so we could have read that without ever accepting the NDA.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:08 PM   #28
zundian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The wording about being ineligible if you've upgraded is in the invitation email, so we could have read that without ever accepting the NDA.
Man, that's what I get for glossing over these things. Oh well.
zundian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |