TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-03-2016, 12:56 PM   #1
richklein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 98
Premiere series 4 Lifetime upgrade to Roamio?

Hi,

I have 4 Tivo Premiere Series 4 boxes. I recently found out about the Tivo mini & thought that would be good in a room that only has ethernet (vs using android & DLNA).

I started reading & am a bit confused. The Roamio has 4 streams & each mini takes a stream at a time.

Is the speed of the roamio & premiere 4 a day & night difference? Is it worth the cost to upgrade? My last recollection of the premiere was the HD menu was so slow I stuck with the classic interface.

I am paying about $80 per month in equipment fees to cablevision & am ready to jump ship back to Tivo.

Do the Roamios work with cable company on demand programming these days?

Thanks,
Rich

richklein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:03 PM   #2
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,563
The Roamios and Minis work very well. I don't have a Premiere 4, so I can't speak directly from experience, but other users have reported that the Roamio gives a noticeable speed boost over the Premiere.

Minis only take up a tuner from the host DVR when the Mini is being used to watch live TV and releases the tuner back when not in use. So when the Mini is not currently being used for live TV or is being used to watch a recording, it does not take up a tuner. If you are worried about not having enough tuners, you can always spring for the Roamio Pro and get 6 tuners instead of just 4.

One big advantage of the Roamio (and Minis associated with a Roamio) over the Premiere is that the Roamio has all the new features (QuickMode and SkipMode). In my opinion, those are the 2 best features that TiVo has come out with to date. To me, SkipMode alone would be more than worth the upgrade from the Premiere.

Comcast on-demand is now available on the Roamio, but I don't think it is available on Cablevision.

tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:24 PM   #3
richklein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 98
So i just tried to activate my Tivo mini to discover that i have 5x Tivo Premieres (Series 4) - not Premiere 4

All 5 have lifetime which I guess is good.

richklein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:29 PM   #4
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 4,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by richklein View Post
So i just tried to activate my Tivo mini to discover that i have 5x Tivo Premieres (Series 4) - not Premiere 4

All 5 have lifetime which I guess is good.
Which model are the Premieres? The first three digits of your TSN are the model number.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:30 PM   #5
richklein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 98
Tcd746320

746-0001

richklein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:32 PM   #6
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by richklein View Post
So i just tried to activate my Tivo mini to discover that i have 5x Tivo Premieres (Series 4) - not Premiere 4

All 5 have lifetime which I guess is good.
Yeah Minis only work with the 4-tuner Premieres. On the bright side, since you have 5 Premeres with lifetime, you could sell them on ebay and probably have enough to buy a Roamio Pro and 5 Minis. That's what I would do if I were you.


Last edited by tarheelblue32; 05-03-2016 at 01:37 PM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:52 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,948
Agreed.

The HD interface for the Premiere got tons faster two years ago. It is not nearly as quick as a Roamio, but it reached acceptable levels.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 02:10 PM   #8
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 4,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by richklein View Post
Tcd746320

746-0001
They are the last boxes to support OTA and cable at the same time. Small HDD though.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:43 AM   #9
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by richklein View Post
Hi,

I am paying about $80 per month in equipment fees to cablevision & am ready to jump ship back to Tivo.

Rich
You already have 5 Premiere's with lifetime and are using Cablevision equipment instead (and paying $80 in equipment charges per month)? I'm really curious why.

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:23 PM   #10
dahacker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 292
The TCD746320 goes for at least $200 on eBay with lifetime. Assuming they all five are fully functional, you would have over $1000 to put toward a Bolt or Roamio with lifetime and a bunch of minis.

Even without selling your old ones on eBay, you are hemorrhaging almost $1000 per year in equipment fees to the cable company. Get a Bolt or Roamio and minis NOW.

__________________
Tivo owner since 2003.
Current Stuff: 2 Roamio Pros, 5 Tivo Minis
dahacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:54 PM   #11
HobokenSkier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 636
J
Went from premiere to Roamio basic. Huge upgrade. Especially on the app side.

HobokenSkier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 11:38 AM   #12
gespears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 381
I went from a bunch of Premiers to a Roamio Pro and some Minis. It was a great upgrade and I almost broke even. DEFINATELY worth it.

gespears is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.
Page generated in 0.23705602 seconds (63.62% PHP - 36.38% MySQL) with 18 queries