TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-02-2016, 10:33 AM   #1
tabarnes19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Finding available tuner

Hi everyone. I have a new bolt setup with a mini in my bedroom wired with cat6e.

When I first set it up I could change channels quickly on the mini.

What I see now is when changing channels I get a 2 sec prompt saying finding available tuner before changing the channel.

Is this normal behavior?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

tabarnes19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 10:38 AM   #2
FLEABttn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
I had this too. It went away for me after I disabled power saving on my Bolt.

FLEABttn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 12:40 PM   #3
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabarnes19 View Post
Is this normal behavior?
Only if the host is in Standby mode. But it takes two to three seconds on my Mini. Standby mode always gives the tuner message for me.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 10:56 PM   #4
tabarnes19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
My bolt seems to go into standby automatically when I turn off all devices with my harmony elite. Is there a way to prevent standby?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

tabarnes19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 07:00 AM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabarnes19 View Post
My bolt seems to go into standby automatically when I turn off all devices with my harmony elite. Is there a way to prevent standby?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
A TiVo never goes into Standby unless you put it there or if you have Power Saving enabled. Many people wish it would.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 08:14 AM   #6
FLEABttn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
Standby is glitchy when using a Bolt with a Mini anyways, at least for me.

FLEABttn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 10:26 AM   #7
tabarnes19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
I honestly don't know how it is going into standby. I checked the settings and they are default, so no standby. I'm guessing it's when I turn everything off with my harmony elite remote it'd putting the bolt in standby. I see the light go out in the front.

That explains why it searches for tuner at night in the bedroom and didn't do it when u was setting up. Last night I couldn't find a tuner kept giving me error v57, but would play recorded material. I went down stairs to check the bolt and it would come out of standby, had to power cycle.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

tabarnes19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 10:51 AM   #8
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabarnes19 View Post
I honestly don't know how it is going into standby. I checked the settings and they are default, so no standby. I'm guessing it's when I turn everything off with my harmony elite remote it'd putting the bolt in standby. I see the light go out in the front.

That explains why it searches for tuner at night in the bedroom and didn't do it when u was setting up. Last night I couldn't find a tuner kept giving me error v57, but would play recorded material. I went down stairs to check the bolt and it would come out of standby, had to power cycle.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
I agree on the Mini not liking a host in standby. If I do that the Mini will come on without audio most of the time, and I have to power cycle my TV.

To verify it's your remote, turn everything off manually. The TiVo never turns off. My measurements indicate 2 watts are saved in Standby, but others have reported the drive spins down. It may be the Mini making the difference.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 11:32 AM   #9
tabarnes19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I agree on the Mini not liking a host in standby. If I do that the Mini will come on without audio most of the time, and I have to power cycle my TV.

To verify it's your remote, turn everything off manually. The TiVo never turns off. My measurements indicate 2 watts are saved in Standby, but others have reported the drive spins down. It may be the Mini making the difference.
New to tivo, but when I press power on the harmony it turns everytbing off and the light goes off on the bolt.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

tabarnes19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 12:00 PM   #10
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabarnes19 View Post
New to tivo, but when I press power on the harmony it turns everytbing off and the light goes off on the bolt.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk
I do hope the TV and other stuff has a power button. There is none on the TiVo. Who programmed the remote? I have the LED on the TiVo disabled and a flat black cardboard panel blocking the front.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 08:16 PM   #11
tabarnes19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
I went into the harmony remote software and set up so tivo is never shut off. Now it doesn't go into standby when I hit the power button.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

tabarnes19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.
Page generated in 0.15662789 seconds (59.49% PHP - 40.51% MySQL) with 18 queries