TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
tbielowicz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 53
Standby mode or leave on all of the time? Does it matter?

Just curious if there are any cons to leaving your TiVo unit or Mini on all of the time. I always felt standby mode would help with longevity but is it only power consumption?

Opinions are welcome.
tbielowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:41 AM   #2
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
No, there are no cons to leaving it on.
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:49 AM   #3
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
There have been a number of posts indicating that having the DVR on standby will limit the number of Emergency Alert Messages (EAM) recorded. NOt a very big plus for me.

michael
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:41 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbielowicz View Post
Just curious if there are any cons to leaving your TiVo unit or Mini on all of the time. I always felt standby mode would help with longevity but is it only power consumption?

Opinions are welcome.
With a "full" non DirectTV TiVo, putting it in standby results in minimal power savings when it shuts off the output. Standby is not "Off". The disk is still spinning, the live buffers are being recorded and all of the other tasks are being performed. However, as mdscott indicated, it does not record the EAS messages (at least the ones from cable), which is why I put mine in standby when not actively using it.

With a mini, it immediately releases the tuner it was using for live TV, making it available for the use by another mini or, with dynamic tuner allocation, for recording.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:44 PM   #5
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 30,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbielowicz View Post
Just curious if there are any cons to leaving your TiVo unit or Mini on all of the time. I always felt standby mode would help with longevity but is it only power consumption?

Opinions are welcome.
AFAIK, standby mode only marginally changes power consumption. The TiVo is still doing everything it does *not* in standby mode; the only thing it isn't doing is sending out video.
LoadStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 02:26 PM   #6
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadStar View Post
AFAIK, standby mode only marginally changes power consumption. The TiVo is still doing everything it does *not* in standby mode; the only thing it isn't doing is sending out video.
and showing the pretty front panel lights.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:52 PM   #7
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 698
Standby is a holdover from days gone by when you'd run other video through the TiVo, AFAIK. It's a legacy function that I'm not so sure serves a whole lot of purpose these days.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:09 PM   #8
mlippert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 55
Actually, I almost always leave my TiVo in standby when I'm not watching it. I didn't have a great reason it just made me feel better.

However, not recording those Emergency Alert Messages (EAM) is a really good reason as far as I'm concerned. Since so many of them interrupt me when I'm watching my TiVo, I had wondered why I rarely saw one recorded over something my TiVo had recorded while I wasn't watching. Now I know.
mlippert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 07:37 AM   #9
I WANT MORE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: "Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 98
I use standby and wish there was a standby button.
I WANT MORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:06 AM   #10
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
I just use it for a bit of added peace-of-mind for electricity usage, and to turn the front green LED off.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:10 AM   #11
takeshi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I use standby and wish there was a standby button.
You can have one with the right remote. I don't use it but URC's CC includes the IR code for standby on Tivo's.
takeshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:19 PM   #12
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdscott View Post
There have been a number of posts indicating that having the DVR on standby will limit the number of Emergency Alert Messages (EAM) recorded. NOt a very big plus for me.
Not limit, *get rid of*.

Not a plus? You want your recordings to be ruined?
mattack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:12 PM   #13
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Not limit, *get rid of*.
There's no guarantee that using standby will eliminate the alert messages because those tests can come at anytime. You have to use your tivo sometime, and if that sometime happens to be at a time when there is an emergency alert test...
So I'll have to go with what mdscott said- "standby will limit the number of Emergency Alert Messages (EAM) recorded."

Quote:
Not a plus? You want your recordings to be ruined?
The EAMs problem does not affect everyone. The fact that standby will limit (not get rid of) the number of Emergency Alert Messages recorded is not a big plus for anyone not affected by the problem to begin with.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:27 PM   #14
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
The fact that standby will limit (not get rid of) the number of Emergency Alert Messages recorded is not a big plus for anyone not affected by the problem to begin with.
Living near the beach, unless it is a tsunami warning we should not be in much trouble; if it is...

michael
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:36 PM   #15
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I use standby and wish there was a standby button.
There is a standby button on the Roamio models. Well at least on the Pro/Plus. I'm not sure about the Roamio Basic model.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:40 PM   #16
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
You have to use your tivo sometime, and if that sometime happens to be at a time when there is an emergency alert test...
I rarely access one of my Premieres directly and never actually watch anything on it, so it is almost always in standby.

Here's a question. If you are watching something on a Mini, either "live" or a recording, and the TiVo you are streaming from is in standby, does it honor EAS messages?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:12 AM   #17
I WANT MORE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: "Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
There is a standby button on the Roamio models. Well at least on the Pro/Plus. I'm not sure about the Roamio Basic model.
OH GREAT. THANKS. I had just talked myself out of purchasing a Roamio.
I WANT MORE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:52 PM   #18
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
There's no guarantee that using standby will eliminate the alert messages because those tests can come at anytime. You have to use your tivo sometime, and if that sometime happens to be at a time when there is an emergency alert test...
So I'll have to go with what mdscott said- "standby will limit the number of Emergency Alert Messages (EAM) recorded."
Well, I was being incredibly technical, and meant what I said.. WHEN the Tivo is in Standby, EAM will be eliminated..

and though it would be expensive, I was actually thinking that it would be cool to have a Tivo LEFT in standby and using a Mini to actually watch the shows (even on the same TV). Not like I'd actually do this, but as I said before, at my new house, I get a lot more EAMs than I did at my old house, only a couple of miles away.
mattack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 12:45 AM   #19
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Well, I was being incredibly technical, and meant what I said.. WHEN the Tivo is in Standby, EAM will be eliminated..

and though it would be expensive, I was actually thinking that it would be cool to have a Tivo LEFT in standby and using a Mini to actually watch the shows (even on the same TV). Not like I'd actually do this, but as I said before, at my new house, I get a lot more EAMs than I did at my old house, only a couple of miles away.
They're probably getting more of them nowadays at your old house as well.

Unless your new house has cable and the old one only had an antenna.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:10 AM   #20
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Well, I was being incredibly technical, and meant what I said.. WHEN the Tivo is in Standby, EAM will be eliminated..

and though it would be expensive, I was actually thinking that it would be cool to have a Tivo LEFT in standby and using a Mini to actually watch the shows (even on the same TV). Not like I'd actually do this, but as I said before, at my new house, I get a lot more EAMs than I did at my old house, only a couple of miles away.
We get many test EAMs all the time after about 1AM, and it sure interrupts the watching of Live TV or a recorded program, but at least in Comcast land in CT it has never interrupted any TiVo recording in progress.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 01:14 PM   #21
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Not limit, *get rid of*.

Not a plus? You want your recordings to be ruined?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Well, I was being incredibly technical, and meant what I said.. WHEN the Tivo is in Standby, EAM will be eliminated..

and though it would be expensive, I was actually thinking that it would be cool to have a Tivo LEFT in standby and using a Mini to actually watch the shows (even on the same TV). Not like I'd actually do this, but as I said before, at my new house, I get a lot more EAMs than I did at my old house, only a couple of miles away.
How you handle the situation makes it personal, not technical.
You left out a couple of words
WHEN the Tivo is in Standby, EAM will be eliminated on my Tivo
because your experience is not that of Tivo users in general.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:10 PM   #22
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,237
Yes it is, because it will be eliminated on ANYONE'S Tivo that is in standby.
mattack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:51 AM   #23
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Yes it is, because it will be eliminated on ANYONE'S Tivo that is in standby.

__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |