TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-03-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,898
XL4 -> Roamio Mini Migration - lessons learned

So I got my Roamio Sunday night and got it set up and going on Monday. I did run into some interesting hiccups with the Minis so thought I would share the experience.

My Mini setup is pretty typical, I am using MoCA hosted by the main TiVo, which has ethernet connectivity directly to the rest of my home network.

So, here's how things went down.

I got my Roamio setup and activated service on it, and I then disconnected the XL4 and put the Roamio Plus in its place. I connected Coax and tried to connect the Minis.

The Minis could see the Roamio on the home network but could not connect to it (infamous V70 unauthorized message). I suspected that the Minis needed to phone home in order to determine that the new Roamio was authorized for service. When I tried to do a "force connection to TiVo" in the settings menu of the Minis, they had no gateway to the outside world as the host XL4 (which acts as their gateway) was disconnected.

I re-connected the XL4 to coax, disabled MoCA on the Roamio, had the Minis phone home, this time they recognized that the Roamio was authorized on the account. I was then able to re-enable MoCA on the Roamio and connect the Minis.

So, these might be the easiest steps to perform if you are swapping out your XL4 for a Roamio and you use MoCA with your Minis;

1. Activate service on the Roamio and make sure it has performed all updates and phoned home. Make sure it shows authorized for service in the status screen. Do not activate MoCA on the Roamio at this time.

2. With the host XL4 still connected, initiate a connection from each Mini to the TiVo mothership to get account info that shows the new Roamio.

3. Disconnect Coax from the XL4 and/or turn off the MoCA bridge function.

4. Turn on the MoCA bridge on the Roamio.

5. On each Mini go into settings -> cable cards -> TiVo setup and choose the new Roamio as the connected DVR.

You might want to verify it's working with the new TiVo before wiping out the settings on your old one. Another option I suppose would be to reset everything on each Mini and simply set them up from scratch with the new Roamio.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:33 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,490
I guess I'm glad I switched my Minis back to Ethernet for use with my Roamio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:53 PM   #3
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,898
I didn't mention it expressly but another workaround to the issue with the Mini being unable to "phone home" would of course be to temporarily hook it up via ethernet long enough to connect to TiVo, authorize to the new Roamio and then move it back to MoCA.

It still seems that they could make this easier, but I expect that the # of Mini sales pre Roamio are pretty small and the setup with a Roamio from scratch is much easier.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:19 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Couldn't you have just setup the MoCa on the Roamio and got it working? The Mini doesn't have to be paired to the Roamio to use it as a MoCa bridge.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #5
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,898
I might have done something incorrectly, but even with MoCA turned on with the Roamio the Minis complained that they could not find the "host TiVo" when the XL4 was disconnected. Admittedly I did not reboot the Minis which might have allowed them to utilize the Roamio MoCA network.

Certainly if turning MoCA on with the Roamio should have let the Minis work the setup would have been less complicated.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:09 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I might have done something incorrectly, but even with MoCA turned on with the Roamio the Minis complained that they could not find the "host TiVo" when the XL4 was disconnected. Admittedly I did not reboot the Minis which might have allowed them to utilize the Roamio MoCA network.
They will do that because the Premiere was offline. But it should still have been connected to your network enough to force a call.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,898
It was when I did a forced call with the XL4 disconnected that they complained that the host gateway was missing. Probably a reboot would have cleared it, but not sure.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:22 PM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
MoCa is a bit flaky that way. I've had trouble with my Actiontec bridge connecting to my Elite after a power outage. If you leave them alone for a while they find each other and recover.

Doesn't really matter. Your advice is still sound. The best thing to do is leave everything connected as-is, buy service for the Roamio, force a few calls on everything to make sure they're all aware of the new TiVo, then swap it out. That way there is no downtime and no confusion.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |