TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2014, 03:43 AM   #1
astmario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Using TiVo just for TimeShift?

Hi,
can I use second hand TiVo series 2 just as TimeShifting device?
I live in Europe and can't find anything cheap and good as TiVo, so I considered buying and using second-hand TiVo series 2 from ebay.
Could I connect my SAT receiver via analog(RCA) connection to TiVo, and than from TiVo to TV? Would that stuff work?
Basically I just need device that can pause video from RCA input, nothing more, no recording, no tv guide and etc. It this plausible with TiVo?
And if answer is yes, what model do you suggest?
astmario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 05:35 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by astmario View Post
Hi,
can I use second hand TiVo series 2 just as TimeShifting device?
I live in Europe and can't find anything cheap and good as TiVo, so I considered buying and using second-hand TiVo series 2 from ebay.
Could I connect my SAT receiver via analog(RCA) connection to TiVo, and than from TiVo to TV? Would that stuff work?
Basically I just need device that can pause video from RCA input, nothing more, no recording, no tv guide and etc. It this plausible with TiVo?
And if answer is yes, what model do you suggest?
Without a subscription you won't be able to copy shows to or from the TiVo to or from a PC, so you might as well consider a Series 1 since England is full of surplus ones these days.

See if you can get one (S1 or S2) that's already been set up for a SAT receiver so that the line inputs (RCA jacks) are active. That way you don't have to worry about it balking in the middle of setup due to lack of subscription or geographical location.

You'll still probably get nag screens/overlays.

There are old threads around here on how long ago an S1 had to have left the factory and with what software version originally in order to do manual recording--don't know if that applies to any English S1s or not.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:03 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,682
Don't forget about the video format, in the US its NTSC, ATSC, whereas in Europe, it may be PAL.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |