TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2013, 07:36 PM   #1
bebw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 393
Question New Tivos - are they 100% wifi?

Do the new Tivos work completely wifi now? I don't use wifi at home. Everything is hard wired. Only one Tivo working now and think it's ready to go.
__________________
Barb
Humax Series 2 DRT800F (YR 2006)
Sony Series 1 2000 - not working
Philips Series 1 HDR212 20 HR (YR 2000) - not working
bebw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:43 PM   #2
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 514
While all the new Roamios include wifi support, they also still include ethernet. The Plus and the Pro add MoCA as well.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
aztivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebw View Post
Do the new Tivos work completely wifi now? I don't use wifi at home. Everything is hard wired. Only one Tivo working now and think it's ready to go.
They can use wifi,Ethernet or MoCA
aztivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:06 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,020
WiFi is just an option. They still have Ethernet ports, and some models also have MoCA. All choices.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:14 PM   #5
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 317
in addition to what the others said...
Wired or moca connection is required on the roamio if you are going to hookup a mini (also wired or moca) later on.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |