TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-12-2013, 10:40 AM   #1
markp99
TakoKichi
 
markp99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 8,666
Can Roamio stream to an un-sub'd unit?

Can Roamio stream to an un-Sub'd Premier or S3?
markp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:53 AM   #2
generaltso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 839
No. You can only stream between units that are on your account, which means they need a subscription. I don't believe MRS is supported on the S3 at all.
generaltso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 02:41 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,926
You can't do much of anything with an un-subbed unit these days. I don't even think they let you pause live TV anymore without a subscription.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:41 PM   #4
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You can't do much of anything with an un-subbed unit these days. I don't even think they let you pause live TV anymore without a subscription.
I believe you can still watch previously recorded shows though.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
I believe you can still watch previously recorded shows though.
Yes you can, and watch live TV without guide data.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:24 PM   #6
series5orpremier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 103
With an S3 you can do manual recordings with no guide data, but that may only work if you've kept it from communicating with the mother-ship for a long time.
series5orpremier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:42 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by series5orpremier View Post
With an S3 you can do manual recordings with no guide data, but that may only work if you've kept it from communicating with the mother-ship for a long time.
Yeah they stopped allowing that on un-subbed units back in the S1 days. With a S1 you could do quite a bit without a subscription, but then they started subsidizing the hardware so they took most of it away and introduced "boat anchor mode". (that's actually what it use to say in the System Info screen when you didn't have a sub)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:08 PM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by series5orpremier View Post
With an S3 you can do manual recordings with no guide data, but that may only work if you've kept it from communicating with the mother-ship for a long time.
After about 30 to 45 days most non Series 1 TiVos will go into brick mode even if it has Lifetime Service if the TiVo does not call home. It will only work as a tuner and be able to play back recordings. I have a Series 2 with Lifetime that does this when I power it up until it calls home.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:31 PM   #9
series5orpremier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 103
Not my Tivo HD. I cut off communications with the Tivo server before it's subscription ended in 2010 and retained manual recording functionality (by time and channel) up until my unit stopped working earlier this year from hard drive or motherboard failure. The unit's internal clock slowly drifted off course but it didn't matter since I just adjusted my start and end times accordingly. I only used it occasionally for a 3rd and/or 4th tuner to supplement my Premiere XL.

It's kind of moot now since I'm not about to mess with trying to fix it and have plenty of tuners with Roamio.
series5orpremier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:09 PM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by series5orpremier View Post
Not my Tivo HD. I cut off communications with the Tivo server before it's subscription ended in 2010 and retained manual recording functionality (by time and channel) up until my unit stopped working earlier this year from hard drive or motherboard failure. The unit's internal clock slowly drifted off course but it didn't matter since I just adjusted my start and end times accordingly. I only used it occasionally for a 3rd and/or 4th tuner to supplement my Premiere XL.

It's kind of moot now since I'm not about to mess with trying to fix it and have plenty of tuners with Roamio.
That why I said most not all, others have reported the same as you, it may be the level of software or just luck, but don't count on it working.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |