TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-26-2013, 01:12 PM   #1
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Netflix has arrived on the Mini!

Well, the wait is finally over, Netflix showed up on my Mini Saturday afternoon, I love it! The Netflix for kids is a great addition, I know this feature isn't exactly new, but new to Tivo owners.

The app launches fast ,and is much more usable than on the Premiere, now I cant wait until my Roamio gets here, good bye premiere units!
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 01:31 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,299
Try it with 1080P24 output? It will reboot when exiting Netflix. Although TiVo is supposed to have an update to fix it shortly.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Try it with 1080P24 output?
I have read some people are experiencing issues with that setting, I haven't tested it myself, I will attempt this evening and report back.
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 02:39 PM   #4
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Try it with 1080P24 output? It will reboot when exiting Netflix. Although TiVo is supposed to have an update to fix it shortly.
I think you mean "Coming Soon".
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere XL4 (X2!)
TiVo Mini (X2!)
TiVo HDXL
TiVo HD
Retired: TiVo Series 2 ST, Philips Series 1 HDR212
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNowChief View Post
I think you mean "Coming Soon".
Mid-September.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:23 PM   #6
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 622
Finally, and it's FAST too... much better experience than on the P4XL, or the Samsung TV they are connected too.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:22 PM   #7
nmpitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Anyone else getting the V301 error on the Mini for Netflix? Any ideas on how to fix this?
nmpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:32 PM   #8
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,477
Finally has Netflix.... wow.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:39 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,299
I noticed if you press the info button while playing a Netflix title, you will get the bitrate info on the upper left. Plus it shows you when it's playing a SuperHD stream or a regular 1080P stream there also.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 08-26-2013 at 09:45 PM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:05 AM   #10
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I noticed if you press the info button while playing a Netflix title, you will get the bitrate info on the upper left. Plus it shows you when it's playing a SuperHD stream or a regular 1080P stream there also.
Good info!
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 10:03 AM   #11
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Anyone else getting the V301 error on the Mini for Netflix? Any ideas on how to fix this?
I'm getting this too.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:41 PM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,596
A reboot usually fixes the 301 error
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:21 PM   #13
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Tried 1080p 24fps also got a reboot. Let's hope for a speedy update!
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 11:35 PM   #14
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
A reboot usually fixes the 301 error
Renewing DHCP or Thumbs Down, Thumbs Up, Play, Play to reset the HDUI can also fix the problem which can be less drastic alternatives.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:24 AM   #15
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Netflix is now working on my Mini following a V301 error. Not sure if Tivo fixed this or it was something I did. In addition to a reset (which did not seem to help), I reset all devices at netflix.com and connected to the Tivo service from the Mini.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:08 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,299
I've had no issues with Netflix the last couple of nights on my Minis. Of course 1080p24 output wasn't checked either.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:12 PM   #17
RockinRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've had no issues with Netflix the last couple of nights on my Minis. Of course 1080p24 output wasn't checked either.
Sorry for the dumb question, but what is the "real" advantage of this over just stright 1080P???
__________________
Best regards,

Ray
____________
1- Roamio
1- Mini
2- Premier
All Lifetime
RockinRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:25 PM   #18
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRay View Post
Sorry for the dumb question, but what is the "real" advantage of this over just stright 1080P???
For most people there is no advantage because their TV is just going to convert to 60fps. Some 120Hz or 240Hz TVs can display 1080p24 natively and there may then be some advantage.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:46 PM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRay View Post
Sorry for the dumb question, but what is the "real" advantage of this over just stright 1080P???
Movies are shot at 24fps. The conversion to 60fps is not exact and can cause some stuttering. It's usually most noticeable in long panning shots. If you have a TV capable of displaying 24fps then it doesn't need the conversion and you'll see the movie exactly as the director intended.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:01 PM   #20
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRay View Post

Sorry for the dumb question, but what is the "real" advantage of this over just stright 1080P???
1080p24 is the only 1080P option for the TiVo Mini. There is no 1080P60 option like you have with the vast majority of other devices.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:26 PM   #21
RockinRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 59
Thanks for the replies guys!

I am using this on a Pioneer Pro-111 Elite which can do the 1080p24, so I might give this a shot to see how well it works. Maybe the wife will notice the difference???


__________________
Best regards,

Ray
____________
1- Roamio
1- Mini
2- Premier
All Lifetime
RockinRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:34 PM   #22
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockinRay View Post
Maybe the wife will notice the difference???
I'm impressed: my wife can't tell SD from HD
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:40 PM   #23
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
There is no 1080P60 option like you have with the vast majority of other devices.
There is no 1080p60 content available on the Mini, so what would be the point?
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:36 PM   #24
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post

There is no 1080p60 content available on the Mini, so what would be the point?
There is no 1080p60 content from most places. It's either 1080i30 or 1080p24.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:49 PM   #25
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
There is no 1080p60 content available on the Mini, so what would be the point?
Having a scaler in the device prevents the blink most TVs get when switching resolutions because everything is upscaled to 1080p60. And with adaptive streaming services like Netflix resolution switching is common, and can become very annoying, and having everything scaled to 1080p60 prevents that with very little noticeable quality loss.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 01:26 PM   #26
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Having a scaler in the device prevents the blink most TVs get when switching resolutions because everything is upscaled to 1080p60. And with adaptive streaming services like Netflix resolution switching is common, and can become very annoying, and having everything scaled to 1080p60 prevents that with very little noticeable quality loss.
I think what you are saying is that the scaler in a device is better than the scaler in a TV. This is probably true if the device is newer than the TV. But you can't for example scale 1080p24 to 1080p60 without doing the telecine thing because 60 isn't divisible by 24. So sometimes you really do need to output to the TV at the source resolution.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:46 PM   #27
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
I think what you are saying is that the scaler in a device is better than the scaler in a TV. This is probably true if the device is newer than the TV. But you can't for example scale 1080p24 to 1080p60 without doing the telecine thing because 60 isn't divisible by 24. So sometimes you really do need to output to the TV at the source resolution.
I'm not saying the quality is better, I'm saying the experience is better. Most TVs will blink or blank out for a second if the video resolution changes. Most devices with scalers can handle the transition seamlessly so it doesn't interrupt what you're watching. Quality wise the scaler in the TV is almost certainly better then what's in a $99 Mini.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |