TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2013, 09:11 PM   #1
Static
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Premiere and roamio MSR.

Trying to figure this out... I have the premiere, hard wired. I want to add another TiVo to the bedroom so that they can share shows. There is no way to get network cable to the bedroom since its in the attic.

But of course I will want the roamio as the new main tivo... How well does the wireless adapter work (for the premiere) and are there any good alternatives?
Thanks!!


Edit: MSR? Multi room streaming lol thanks iPhone.
Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:44 PM   #2
moedaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Static View Post
Trying to figure this out... I have the premiere, hard wired. I want to add another TiVo to the bedroom so that they can share shows. There is no way to get network cable to the bedroom since its in the attic.

But of course I will want the roamio as the new main tivo... How well does the wireless adapter work (for the premiere) and are there any good alternatives?
Thanks!!


Edit: MSR? Multi room streaming lol thanks iPhone.
According to Tivo's website, wireless is not recommended for streaming between units. Do you already have coax installed in your bedroom? If so, MOCA might be your answer.
moedaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:43 PM   #3
NJChris
Moogs!
 
NJChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Riverdale, NJ USA
Posts: 4,224
I have one premiere wired and one is wireless but with the N adapter connected at 5ghz. It works perfect for me. I tried the G adapter and on the 2ghz band... not recommended as there were many pauses for buffering.

I'd only do it if you can be on a 5ghz N band for wireless or wired.
__________________
xbox gamertag - zzaz
ps3 - zzaz
Nintendo ID: njchris
NJChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 10:06 AM   #4
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 299
I stream premiere to premiere via wireless n/ac 5ghz band without issues. Save for the once in a rate while dropped connection. It's important to pick a channel with no one else on it. Until recently this had never been an issue and a second 5 ghz band showed up 7 months ago. They setup on the channel I was on so I just moved from channel 36 to 149 and upgraded from n to ac.
__________________
{DirecTiVo}
HNS SD-DVR40{retired}
HNS SD-DVR80{retired}
----
TiVo Premiere {lifetime} WD1TB+w/slide remote(original)
TiVo Premiere {lifetime} WD1TB
TiVo Stream (happily streaming to Android)
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
Static
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Do you use the official tivo adapters or another kind?
Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:58 PM   #6
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post
According to Tivo's website, wireless is not recommended for streaming between units. Do you already have coax installed in your bedroom? If so, MOCA might be your answer.
I second this.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:09 PM   #7
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 753
I use a Linksys N bridge, and streaming works perfectly.

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WES610.../dp/B0056VP0KS
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 09:56 AM   #8
Static
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
I second this.
Moca? Hmmm. Yes coax is there.
Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:33 PM   #9
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarBowl View Post
I use a Linksys N bridge, and streaming works perfectly.
http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WES610.../dp/B0056VP0KS
Me too.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |