TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
tater2
Tarheel Tivo
 
tater2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 88
Thumbs up Roamio pro and Time Warner setup

Got my pro this afternoon called TW to pair the unit. They have a cable card setup number to call. I was only on hold for 2 min before someone picked up

CSR asked what box I had, told him the Roamio pro. He said nice and that's the box he was going to get. Said it was top of the line and he had already authorized over 100 TiVo boxes so far

Took about 5 min to pair e cable card. It was a Cisco PKM802. I asked him was I going to get 6 tuners he said you bet. Got off the phone with him and I was able to record 6 HD channels

Only one small problem so far. Some of the channels are not coming in. Only one HBO Chanel is seen and a few others. Comedy Central etc. it say Chanel temporarily unavailable.

I rebooted the TiVo and tuning adapter to try and fix it. That didn't help. I am going to give it until tomorrow to try and fix its self before calling time warner back

Very happy so far
tater2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
Kerwin51580
Registered User
 
Kerwin51580's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 30
Thanks for posting your experience, tater2. I have Time Warner in NYC and I've been waiting to bite the bullet on a Pro until I heard about other people's experiences.

Did that channel problem of yours get fixed?
__________________
Time Warner Cable, New York City
2 - TiVo Premiere XL4
Kerwin51580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 04:40 PM   #3
Kerwin51580
Registered User
 
Kerwin51580's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 30
Forgot to ask, are you using a TA along with your cablecard?
__________________
Time Warner Cable, New York City
2 - TiVo Premiere XL4
Kerwin51580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:09 PM   #4
scole250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 678
Another for TWC RDU. Folks in the other TWC regions with bad experience need to tell their TWC staff to get notes from the RDU TWC staff.
__________________
3 Premieres w/2TB each
Media server
scole250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:18 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
So it seems that after 7 years cable companies are finally getting their act together on CableCARDs and making it so it's not such a huge PITA to be a TiVo owner.

For the cable industry that's actually quite swift.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |