TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2014, 02:31 AM   #1
jsvette56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: santa clara
Posts: 9
Problem connecting to steaming device

I am out of the US using my 2 iPads to stream TV from my 2 Tivo units which has been working pretty flawlessly, until yesterday.

I CAN connect to both Tivo units and see all the programs recorded and ones being recorded but when I try to watch I now get a message "There was a problem connecting to streaming device" and says I should "start setup" but setup fails each time. Same problem occurs on both iPads. I've rebooted both iPads, with no success.

If I were on a short trip I wouldn't worry about it, but I'm going to be away for three more months. I've checked network at home(remotely) and here and both are over 30mbps.

Any suggestions?
jsvette56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:33 AM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvette56 View Post
I am out of the US using my 2 iPads to stream TV from my 2 Tivo units which has been working pretty flawlessly, until yesterday.

I CAN connect to both Tivo units and see all the programs recorded and ones being recorded but when I try to watch I now get a message "There was a problem connecting to streaming device" and says I should "start setup" but setup fails each time. Same problem occurs on both iPads. I've rebooted both iPads, with no success.

If I were on a short trip I wouldn't worry about it, but I'm going to be away for three more months. I've checked network at home(remotely) and here and both are over 30mbps.

Any suggestions?
If you can have someone power cycle your Stream device (you didn't mention if it was standalone or Roamio Pro/Plus based) that would be the 1st thing to try.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:30 PM   #3
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
I have gotten that fairly often lately because my networking equipment is cycling. I don't know for sure but I would bet that it has to do with DHCP reservations, but I could be wrong (I wish you could set a static IP.)

I would do this (in this order):

1. On the ipad, go into the task switcher (double click on the home button) and close out the tivo app
2. Pull the plug on the tivo stream for about 15 seconds or so
3. Plug the power cord back in, let it go for a couple minutes to re-initialize itself
4. open up the tivo app and go straight to setup and run that again.

Like I said, I've been playing with a lot of network settings and rebooting my equipment, I am betting that is what is causing all of my problems with the stream (and other equipment.) Unfortunately I have to do a lot of 802.11ac testing right now so that is causing all kinds of problems for me.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 05:23 AM   #4
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 752
I am having this same problem since the tivo app updated to v3.3
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 05:27 AM   #5
SugarBowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 752
Rebooting the stream did not help. Shutting down the iPhone app and restarting fixed it. But now closed captions are always on, no matter what the CC toggle button is set to.
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 06:58 AM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarBowl View Post
Rebooting the stream did not help. Shutting down the iPhone app and restarting fixed it. But now closed captions are always on, no matter what the CC toggle button is set to.
Looks like that is a bug with updated version of the iOS App. See:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...7#post10122387
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |