TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-14-2014, 11:57 AM   #1
synch22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 328
Will an already activated and working roamio, work if restarted without internet

I am having issues for some reason adding some channels to my cable package. I just upgraded services 2 weeks ago no problem but now an additional upgrade is refusing to work. ( I have on demand and everything else working no problem this is strange)

The guy said it could be the splitters etc, which i do have and have never had problems getting signals. So since my splitters are in wall, if I unplugged the roamio and hook it up in another room to try and have a signal sent to the box with no splitters in the way will the tivo boot up and work with no internet?

Right now its hard wired i have the moca all setup running no problems, I dont want to plug the box in and have it ask me to change settings.


Thanks
synch22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:30 PM   #2
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 513
It will work, but alot of features obviously wont work, "what to watch", apps, discovery bar, etc and you'll get some error messages.


What exactly are the "issues"?

Who is your cable co?

DVR diagnostics to look at your signal strength?

Did you re-run guided setup?

What other steps have you tried?
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 09:38 PM   #3
synch22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 328
My issue was a signal from.the cable company ( upgrading channels)despite never having an issue before would not come through. I unhooked the TiVo and it did boot up no problem.without internet. This time the coax was straight from the wall no.splitters.and the signal worked no.problem.
My issue was solved, and I returned the TiVo to the original spot splitters and all.
synch22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 03:21 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
That means you have a signal strength issue where the TiVo is normally located. A lot of times when there is a strength issue the OOB signal the CableCARD uses for receiving messages and lineup changes from your cable company is the first to suffer. You should consider buying an amp. Install it before all the splits, as close to where the cable comes into the house as you can, so it can help amplify the good signal before it's degraded by the splitters etc...
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 09:05 PM   #5
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,933
It will boot, but you can't even do things like View Upcoming without the net!!! I like many features of my P4 & Roamio, but the "Internet dependency" is one feature I detest. The fact that streaming/downloading shows (e.g. to iPad) requires a net connection, when I could use kmttg on a disconnected Tivo, stinks too..
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |