TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
boslamr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
Should exchange my Tivo Premier for a Roamio s/plus?

I finally broke down and bought a Tivo Premier (basic) from best buy at the beginning of the month when they were marked down to $99. Now I see the Roamio for $199 and the plus for $399 (pricey).

I'm wondering if I should take it back and get the roamio now. How hard is it to switch my account to the new box? What about moving the recordings? I like the streaming capabilities but not sure how often I would use it. But If I only needed one box it would be kind of handy. Any suggestions?
boslamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
GeePea
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Aren't you outside the return period for the Tivo (15 days) with BestBuy? You may be able to get Bestbuy to swap for a Roamio but YMMV.

As you're within the 30 days for the money back guarantee for service, it's simple just to cancel the service by calling Tivo. When you buy a new box again, you'll added it to your account just like you did for the Premiere.

If it was me, I'd get a Roamio. Just based on current feedback, you'll get a much better user experience than with the Premiere. I'm planning to replace my Premiere XL in next few week once they're more ready available.

Do you plan to use the stream functionality? If you stick with the Premiere, you'll have to add a Tivo stream.
GeePea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:19 AM   #3
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,554
I definitely would if they will let you.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #4
boslamr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
I'm a silvery premier customer I thought it was 45 days. I will have to check on that.
boslamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:45 AM   #5
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,554
Yeah Silver should be 45, not sure if it is the same with electronics though.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:48 AM   #6
series5orpremier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
Depends how you receive your TV channels. If you're an all digital cable or all over-the-air customer then get a Roamio. If you have any analog cable channels you want to use on the TiVo then keep the Premiere.
series5orpremier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:50 AM   #7
boslamr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
I would just buy the second one but I don't really want to pay another $13/mo. But after I looked at my cable bill. I didn't really save much by switching to tivo ($5)O.

Last edited by boslamr : 08-28-2013 at 02:14 PM.
boslamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:38 PM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by series5orpremier View Post
Depends how you receive your TV channels. If you're an all digital cable or all over-the-air customer then get a Roamio. If you have any analog cable channels you want to use on the TiVo then keep the Premiere.
This should be a major consideration. If your cable company still has any analog channels then the 2 tuner Premiere is your only option. The Roamio units are digital only so they can not tune analog stations at all.

This is what's preventing me from recommending a Roamio to my Sister. We still have about 30 analog only stations here. Until we go all digital I'm recommending she stick with her HDs.

However I'm a little more advanced so I have both a 2 tuner Premiere and an 6 tuner Roamio Pro on the way. (replacing a 4 tuner Elite) I'm just careful to setup all my analog recordings on the Premiere and use the Roamio for everything else. However maintaining two TiVos worth of recordings is kind of a PITA so I would really like for my cable company to go all digital so I can get rid of the Premiere.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:09 PM   #9
series5orpremier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 112
If the Series 5 wasn't coming out I was on the verge of getting a 2nd Premiere anyway for the additional tuners to alleviate conflicts (didn't want to mess with repairing my unsubscribed TiVo HD). I also have about 35 analog cable channels but no digital other than OTA, so will gladly keep the Premiere to complement the base Roamio.

Last edited by series5orpremier : 08-28-2013 at 07:15 PM.
series5orpremier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |