TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 07:30 AM   #1
jedisinclair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
My experience - stellar

Sorry to hear some people are having issues with the new Roamio. My experience was perfect. The wifi recognized my network (which is on an Apple Extreme router - older usb wifi adapter had issues connecting). And, Charter was able to pair the cable card from my old Premiere 4 to the Roamio in just a few minutes (I was impressed because it was a hassle pairing it with the Premiere). I am blown away how much faster navigating menus is with the Roamio. With my Premiere, I had to go to SD menus. I recorded and watched a few shows… so far, I am VERY happy with my new Roamio.
jedisinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:41 AM   #2
davidmcd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedisinclair View Post
Sorry to hear some people are having issues with the new Roamio. My experience was perfect. The wifi recognized my network (which is on an Apple Extreme router - older usb wifi adapter had issues connecting). And, Charter was able to pair the cable card from my old Premiere 4 to the Roamio in just a few minutes (I was impressed because it was a hassle pairing it with the Premiere). I am blown away how much faster navigating menus is with the Roamio. With my Premiere, I had to go to SD menus. I recorded and watched a few shows… so far, I am VERY happy with my new Roamio.
Good to hear! I just ordered a Plus from Weaknees. I'm looking forward to it!!
davidmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:01 AM   #3
filovirus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
I too have had a great experience with Roamio Pro upgrading from Premiere XL. Comcast cable card transfer from premiere only took about 5 minutes on the phone. My only problem is trying to figure out what to do with my second XL/cablecard setup, Mini vs. Roamio Basic. By going Mini, my Roamio would be come a single point of failure, so having a backup would be nice. And it would be great if they had a Roamio that did both OTA and Cable like my XL. Guess I stick it out with the XL for the short term.
filovirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:37 AM   #4
cptlapcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, Ca
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedisinclair View Post
Sorry to hear some people are having issues with the new Roamio. My experience was perfect. The wifi recognized my network (which is on an Apple Extreme router - older usb wifi adapter had issues connecting). And, Charter was able to pair the cable card from my old Premiere 4 to the Roamio in just a few minutes (I was impressed because it was a hassle pairing it with the Premiere). I am blown away how much faster navigating menus is with the Roamio. With my Premiere, I had to go to SD menus. I recorded and watched a few shows… so far, I am VERY happy with my new Roamio.
Did you have to reboot the tuning adapter before/after pairing the cable card? I have had nothing but problems with Charter cable card and tuning adapter but finally it has been working for the past few weeks and I don't want to go thru the cable card/tuning adapter dance again with the Roamio. I would love the Roamio Plus.
cptlapcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:39 AM   #5
ken0918
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
I left Tivo years ago when I had some equipment failures and coudn't be bothered to replace the boxes and subsequently went with Verizon's DVR. Anyway, I just picked up a Roamio Plus and a few Minis for around the house. I'm on Fios and am also having a fantastic experience so far.
ken0918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:49 AM   #6
oosik77
TiVo Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Posts: 294
Let me add another positive voice for Roamio Plus! When I have to use my Premiere in the other room now it's extra painful. Might need to sell it and my HD unit and get some mini's.
__________________
I am Porky Pig of Borg. You will be assim... assim... assim... absorbed.
oosik77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
pdxrunr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 36
Another

Same here! Comcast Portland, OR took 5 minutes to move the card from my Premier. Everything else smooth, guided setup, all good. Streaming to the Ipad worked on first try as did moving my season passes online and moving all my content from my Premier. Well executed Tivo! #TivoLove
pdxrunr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:23 AM   #8
Big Boy Laroux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 86
Painless setup for me, too. Roamio Pro, 5 minutes on phone with Comcast to pair cablecard with new tivo. MOCA was plug and play (i had MOCA adapters before, so still have one near my modem/router).
Big Boy Laroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:26 PM   #9
jedisinclair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptlapcat View Post
Did you have to reboot the tuning adapter before/after pairing the cable card? I have had nothing but problems with Charter cable card and tuning adapter but finally it has been working for the past few weeks and I don't want to go thru the cable card/tuning adapter dance again with the Roamio. I would love the Roamio Plus.
Nope... I just ran Guided Setup (without the cable card or tuning adapter connected). Then I plugged both into the TiVo unit and called Charter. Told the lady I wanted to pair a new cable card. She asked for two numbers, Host ID and Data I think. A few minutes later, all was working perfectly
jedisinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |