TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2008, 06:58 PM   #1
DigitalDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North of Dallas TX
Posts: 97
Tivo Desktop error: Unable to begin tivo desktop. The file name is too long

Whenever I try to run version 2.6.2 I get this error. Any suggestions?

Dan
DigitalDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 04:43 AM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
It's probably because of a file you have in your My TiVo Recordings folder. Check all the files in there, and any folder you may be linking to via a short cut, and see if any stand out as having a particularly long file name.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 10:10 AM   #3
DigitalDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North of Dallas TX
Posts: 97
I don't have a my tivo recordings folder. I got this error the first time i ran tivo desktop after installation. I removed tivo desktop and reinstalled a few times and get this error every time. I also did a wipe of the software (per the instructions on the tivo site) and reinstalled, no luck. My OS is XP. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Dan
DigitalDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 09:53 AM   #4
antoni810
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Unable To Begin Tivo Desktop. The File Name Is Too Long

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
It's probably because of a file you have in your My TiVo Recordings folder. Check all the files in there, and any folder you may be linking to via a short cut, and see if any stand out as having a particularly long file name.

Dan
After 3 calls and about 4 hours on phone with Tech support (?) I googled "BEGIN TIVO DESKTOP. THE FILE NAME IS TOO LONG" and ran into this forum and your responce.

First tech said he would call me back after i had time to remove, re-download and re-install Desktop software. He didn't and the effort didn't work.

Second tech said I had to add a new ADMINISTRATOR to my XP and re-install. Gave me a new KEY to install.

The third advised AND gave me the number to Microsoft as this was not Tivo's problem.

I followed your advise and systematically transfered a title at a time from the MY TIVO RECORDINGS to a new file-and atempting to load the Tivo Deskstop each time. In about 5 mins OR LESS you helped me do what 3 techs and 4 hours of BS and buck-passing failed.

Thank you.
antoni810 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 04:06 AM   #5
jofhen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Long Path Tool

You may use Long Path Tool to copy or delete your file. It really works well in this situation. For more info you may read at PathTooDeep.
jofhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 04:14 AM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
You realize this thread is 5 years old right?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |