TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 08-26-2013, 01:39 AM   #1
trade
Tivo Addict

DVRExpander upgrading can be duplicate instead lose recordings

I have a Elite connected to a old WD External DVR Expander 500Gb to 1Tb, with Time Warner isn't possible transfer almost none recording via TiVo Desktop.

So attaching the new DVRExpander will lose recordings, there is an alternative as duplicate the drives or each Tivo perform a recording signature on the DVRExpander.

Thanks for comment

Trade

Qnap TS-469L NAS 8TB WD Red
Sony StreamPlayer NP-2000
Apple TV 3
trade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 04:13 AM   #2
unitron

Quote:
Originally Posted by trade View Post
I have a Elite connected to a old WD External DVR Expander 500Gb to 1Tb, with Time Warner isn't possible transfer almost none recording via TiVo Desktop.

So attaching the new DVRExpander will lose recordings, there is an alternative as duplicate the drives or each Tivo perform a recording signature on the DVRExpander.

Thanks for comment

Trade
I can't tell if you want to move the external drive to a different TiVo or replace it on the same TiVo with a different external drive.

The recordings on the external drive you have now are tied both to that particular TiVo and to the internal hard drive of that particular TiVo.

So moving that external to a different TiVo means losing the recordings.

If you need to replace it, then maybe it could be "Xeroxed" to another WD TiVo Certified external drive and used with that same TiVo and the recordings saved that way.

"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 08:46 AM   #3
trade
Tivo Addict