TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-02-2015, 05:56 AM   #1
s10023
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 76
roamio green screen

i havent seen any recent posts on a roamio green screen problem. just got one last night. it's flashing between four screens:
- welcome! starting up...
- blank (maybe tivo restarting itself?)
- almost there... just a few minutes more
- green secreen ("tivo box has detected a serious problem and is now attempting to fix it")

waited over 3 hours and it didn't recover

is my next step just to buy a new hard drive, insert it, and let it format itself?

also... the "almost there" screen usually comes up after an update. did an update go out last night? wondering if that may have caused it.

s10023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 07:43 AM   #2
uw69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 391
Did you try power cycling the Roamio? If not, it may be worth a shot.

__________________
2 Tivo Series 1 (Both retired)
2 Tivo Series 2, dual tuner (1 retired)
3 Tivo Series 3 (2 retired) 1 OTA
1 Roamio plus 470 hours
4 TiVo Mini's
uw69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:21 AM   #3
s10023
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 76
Yes. Didn't help

s10023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:23 AM   #4
59er
TiVotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 481
Try power cycling with the coax and Ethernet cables disconnected.

59er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 12:23 PM   #5
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 905xx
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by s10023 View Post
is my next step just to buy a new hard drive, insert it, and let it format itself?
Probably.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 59er View Post
Try power cycling with the coax and Ethernet cables disconnected.
If that doesn't work (and I would be surprised if it did) then it's time for a new HDD.

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 04:30 PM   #6
s10023
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 76
just wondering... what is the best option then?

exchange with tivo for $149
-or-
buy new hard drive for $119?

s10023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 04:46 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,210
DIY. Save $30 and shipping costs, learn somehthing new, and get it done quicker.

Which box do you have?

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 06:09 PM   #8
s10023
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 76
Roamio pro.

s10023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.
Page generated in 0.07617211 seconds (78.39% PHP - 21.61% MySQL) with 18 queries