TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-30-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
jmeray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Transfer show from other tivo, shows wrong show name

So I have a roamio plus, I transfer a show called "ABC" from my series-2-tivo to the roamio. While transferring, it shows it in-progress, however it shows it with the name of some other show "XYZ" in the MyShows listing as being transferred. Once done, I watch it, and it's the "ABC" show as expected. But it has the wrong name, and description.
Anybody else see this problem?
I go view it on the series2 and it's named correctly with proper description.
It doesn't happen on EVERY transferred show.
Help?

jmeray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 05:32 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,993
When a Series 2 does a direct TiVo-TiVo transfer a lot of the metadata gets lost, although it usually gets the show name and description right on older models.

Try using pyTivo or TiVo Desktop to transfer the file to your computer first, and then from the computer to the Roamio.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
jmeray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks for the response.
I have transferred hundreds of shows series2 to series2 and never had a single show provide wrong title or description data. But the roamio transferred "Marvel agents of shield" over with the name and description for "Dancing with the stars". This makes no sense, and has to be a bug.
Has anyone else experienced this?
I appreciate the possible workaround, but since series2-to-series2 xferred flawlessly, I have to try and determine if roamio has a bug that needs fixing overall, or if this problem is only happening to me.
Anyone else?
jmeray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:23 PM   #4
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmeray View Post
Thanks for the response.
I have transferred hundreds of shows series2 to series2 and never had a single show provide wrong title or description data. But the roamio transferred "Marvel agents of shield" over with the name and description for "Dancing with the stars". This makes no sense, and has to be a bug.
Has anyone else experienced this?
I appreciate the possible workaround, but since series2-to-series2 xferred flawlessly, I have to try and determine if roamio has a bug that needs fixing overall, or if this problem is only happening to me.
Anyone else?
FWIW, I transferred a bunch of shows from a Tivo S3 OLED to the Roamio Pro with no issues.

Out of curiousity, did you also happen to transfer Dancing with the Stars? Meaning, did it grab the wrong titles from existing recordings?
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 07:48 PM   #5
jbell73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 85
I have this exact same problem. I transferred a bunch of Modern Family episodes and they are listed with a complete different name when they are transferred into the Roamio.

Specifically I did this from pyTivo, but all of the meta data is there and accurate. I executed a PULL so that the meta data would be intact but I never expected Roamio to ignore that and use random show names.

Is there a fix for this??
__________________
1 x TiVo Roamio Plus + 3TB + Lifetime
2 x TiVo Premiere w/2TB (1 LT, 1 MSD)
8 x Tivo S2/S3/HD/P (Retired/Sold)
jbell73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:40 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Are the shows being transferred padded? The full metadata for a recording actually contains data for the preceding program when there is leading padding and for the following program when there is trailing padding. Sometimes, the TiVo will use the wrong set of metadata for the transfer.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 09:12 PM   #7
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbell73 View Post
I have this exact same problem. I transferred a bunch of Modern Family episodes and they are listed with a complete different name when they are transferred into the Roamio.

Specifically I did this from pyTivo, but all of the meta data is there and accurate. I executed a PULL so that the meta data would be intact but I never expected Roamio to ignore that and use random show names.

Is there a fix for this??
The only sure way around the problem is to:
1. create the .mpg.txt metadata file
2. decrypt the .tivo files to .mpg
3. download the .mpg file so it uses the .mpg.txt file for the metadata rather than the data embedded in the .tivo file.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 11:02 PM   #8
jbell73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
The only sure way around the problem is to:
1. create the .mpg.txt metadata file
2. decrypt the .tivo files to .mpg
3. download the .mpg file so it uses the .mpg.txt file for the metadata rather than the data embedded in the .tivo file.
Thanks. I'll let all of my transfers complete, and then take inventory of the bad names (metadata) and convert those to mpg, and then finally transfer them again.

What a PITA. Is this just a bug with Roamio?
__________________
1 x TiVo Roamio Plus + 3TB + Lifetime
2 x TiVo Premiere w/2TB (1 LT, 1 MSD)
8 x Tivo S2/S3/HD/P (Retired/Sold)
jbell73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 12:59 PM   #9
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbell73 View Post
Thanks. I'll let all of my transfers complete, and then take inventory of the bad names (metadata) and convert those to mpg, and then finally transfer them again.

What a PITA. Is this just a bug with Roamio?
Appears to be. Doesn't always happen though which makes it difficult to track down.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |