TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-25-2015, 02:55 AM   #1
bgc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 132
Can Roamio DVRs be used with standard definition tvs?

Will the Roamio DVRs work with standard def TVs? I noticed the base Roamio doesn't appear to have any video out jacks on it.

If you can use them on SD TVs, how are the menus and the output aspect ration handled?

Thanks,
BGC

bgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 03:22 AM   #2
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,474
It has a mini jack port for analog like the Tivo Mini does. They expect you to buy this cable:
https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/av-cable

You can find equivalent cables on Amazon or eBay.

telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:03 AM   #3
Mikeguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 745
I've had no issue with the Roamio on an SDTV (although text may be less clear than on an HDTV). Aspect ratio is set on the Roamio and can be changed on the remote on-the-fly, through the Zoom key.

Mikeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:05 AM   #4
Mikeguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
It has a mini jack port for analog like the Tivo Mini does. They expect you to buy this cable:
https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/av-cable

You can find equivalent cables on Amazon or eBay.
I shamed TiVo into sending me the cable without charge. A weenie move, not to include standard composite and component connections as on the Roamio Plus and Pro.

Mikeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:15 AM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgc View Post
Will the Roamio DVRs work with standard def TVs? I noticed the base Roamio doesn't appear to have any video out jacks on it.

If you can use them on SD TVs, how are the menus and the output aspect ration handled?

Thanks,
BGC
The Roamio Plus and Pro have composite RCA jacks to use with a SDTV, only the two less expensive models don't have the RCA jacks.

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.
Page generated in 0.05356002 seconds (71.72% PHP - 28.28% MySQL) with 18 queries