TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-26-2015, 02:04 PM   #1
njurkovi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Roamio does not record scheduled shows, no conflict

Mostly my Roamio is working as expected, but for couple of shows I just can't get it to record them properly.

For these shows
- there is no conflict (in fact it is the only show to be recorded at that time)
- I temporarily set it to record all (new and old, all seasons) - just to make sure that I am not somehow inadvertently restricting what is to be recorded
-there is no double checkmark ever present for any episode(in upcoming)
- the show will record if I manually force it - in such a case the option will be "record again" which makes absolutely no sense because it is a first showing, with a future date, so there is no way it could have been recorded previously

I really don't know what is going on here - I never had this problem with my old tivo

njurkovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:16 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by njurkovi View Post
Mostly my Roamio is working as expected, but for couple of shows I just can't get it to record them properly.

For these shows
- there is no conflict (in fact it is the only show to be recorded at that time)
- I temporarily set it to record all (new and old, all seasons) - just to make sure that I am not somehow inadvertently restricting what is to be recorded
-there is no double checkmark ever present for any episode(in upcoming)
- the show will record if I manually force it - in such a case the option will be "record again" which makes absolutely no sense because it is a first showing, with a future date, so there is no way it could have been recorded previously

I really don't know what is going on here - I never had this problem with my old tivo
What show? Is there anything in the history about it?

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:58 PM   #3
njurkovi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
I think I found the answer to my questions

Somehow the one pass was set to record on only one particular channel, rather than 'all'. As soon as I changed to all it picked it up

Thank you for your reply - it made me look harder at all the settings

Regards

njurkovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 11:36 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by njurkovi View Post
I think I found the answer to my questions

Somehow the one pass was set to record on only one particular channel, rather than 'all'. As soon as I changed to all it picked it up

Thank you for your reply - it made me look harder at all the settings

Regards
The only time "All" is the default for channel when you create a 1P is when there is no episode in the guide, usually for a series that is going to start at some point in the future.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 06:50 AM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
The only time "All" is the default for channel when you create a 1P is when there is no episode in the guide, usually for a series that is going to start at some point in the future.
I'm glad they changed that. It used to be "All" when a program first appeared in the guide and there was "No upcoming" shown. That would go away, and the next day the program and a channel would show up in a Search.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 07:59 AM   #6
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 177
The problem with the new system is what happened here though. Since you can go into the future now by a good margin, you can set One Passes in a show's offseason. But if the show is syndicated, the TiVo is only going to find the re-runs on a different channel and default to recording on that channel. A user who assumes that setting an OP for Shark Tank will get him or her the new episodes when the show comes back may later be in for a poor surprise when they miss the new episodes because the OP automatically set itself for only CNBC (as that is where the re-runs go). I think it should always default to all channels because of this.

abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:35 AM   #7
njurkovi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
abovethesink ... yes, I agree completely.

njurkovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:54 AM   #8
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by njurkovi View Post
abovethesink ... yes, I agree completely.
And I completely disagree.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.
Page generated in 0.06718397 seconds (73.90% PHP - 26.10% MySQL) with 18 queries