TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-26-2015, 10:50 PM   #1
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Roamio Pro Remote

Hi. Quick question. Do the Roamio Pro and TiVo Mini come with Rf remotes or Ir remotes?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 11:28 PM   #2
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
Hi. Quick question. Do the Roamio Pro and TiVo Mini come with Rf remotes or Ir remotes? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
All Roamios come with RF, the mini V1 is IR, V2 is RF.

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:09 PM   #3
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 715
More re: Mini version differences...

http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...4#post10482584

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:18 AM   #4
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
All Roamios come with RF, the mini V1 is IR, V2 is RF.

Ok. So why is my Roamio's remote out of the box Ir? Is there a setting to change it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:23 AM   #5
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
Ok. So why is my Roamio's remote out of the box Ir? Is there a setting to change it? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Go to TiVo.com/support and find the RF remote pairing procedures.

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:43 AM   #6
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
Ok. So why is my Roamio's remote out of the box Ir? Is there a setting to change it?
See pg. 61 of the Roamio Viewer's Guide for steps on pairing your RF remote w/ your Roamio. Pg. 62 shows how to unpair the remote.

See also this TCF thread.

To toggle the remote between IR & RF modes...
Set remote to IR mode: press & hold (C)+TiVo buttons until LED flashes red

Set remote to RF mode: press & hold (D)+TiVo buttons until LED flashes amber

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:47 AM   #7
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
All Roamios come with RF, the mini V1 is IR, V2 is RF.

Also, my Mini remote looks EXACTLY like my Roamio remote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 02:30 AM   #8
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
Also, my Mini remote looks EXACTLY like my Roamio remote.
Then you purchased a Mini v2. (see earlier post)

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 06:54 AM   #9
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Thanks. I got my Roamio Pro set up last night. Will try the Mini today.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 06:53 PM   #10
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by krkaufman View Post
Then you purchased a Mini v2. (see earlier post)

I guess my Mini remote just looks like my Romio remote. I cannot switch it into Rf mode with [D] + TiVo. It does not flash amber. It DOES flash amber and try and link with a TiVo when I press TiVo + BACK. Strange, huh?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 06:57 PM   #11
Chris.scm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 17
Roamio Pro Remote

Oh, I just figured out how to find whether my TiVo Mini is .v1 or .v2. I looked on the bottom label. I should have done this sooner, my TiVo Mini is a 92000, .v1 so it is Ir only.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris.scm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 08:59 PM   #12
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
Oh, I just figured out how to find whether my TiVo Mini is .v1 or .v2. I looked on the bottom label. I should have done this sooner, my TiVo Mini is a 92000, .v1 so it is Ir only.
Yep, 92000 is the v1 (and IR-only). You can usually also quickly tell by the location of the "TiVo Mini" text on the front of the Mini.
Mini v1 => Left-justified
Mini v2 => Centered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris.scm View Post
I guess my Mini remote just looks like my Romio remote. I cannot switch it into Rf mode with [D] + TiVo. It does not flash amber. It DOES flash amber and try and link with a TiVo when I press TiVo + BACK. Strange, huh?
Yes, VERY strange. From what you've reported, it sounds like you've received a Mini v2 (Roamio-style, RF-capable) remote control but a Mini v1 device.

I did a reset on one of my Roamio-style, RF-capable Mini v2 remotes (see above), and it's behaving as you describe. Once it was reset and I'd forced it into IR mode (using C+TiVo), I couldn't get it back into RF mode using D+TiVo (likely because it's unpaired); however, I could put the remote into pairing mode (LED flashing amber) by holding down the Back+TiVo buttons. From what I observed, the remote attempts pairing, with the LED flashing amber, for 30 seconds.

So my question is... Which version of the TiVo Mini did you *think* you were buying? What does the box indicate? If you'd purchased a v1, you're better-off, since your Roamio Pro & Mini remotes will match and you're just one step away from an IR/RF-capable setup (would just need to obtain the USB RF dongle); if you'd paid for a v2, you wuz robbed.

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 09:04 PM   #13
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 715
Out of curiosity, looking at the linked image, below, which pictured remote matches your present TiVo Mini remote?
TiVo remote comparison image

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.
Page generated in 0.06710196 seconds (75.59% PHP - 24.41% MySQL) with 18 queries