TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 08-21-2013, 11:50 PM   #1
AdamNJ

Extended Warranty or no?

Hi All,

I've been lurking in the shadows here for about a month, checking in for updates on series 5. I ordered a Roamio Pro on the release date and I am new to Tivo. I can't wait to (hopefully) no longer get aggravated while watching TV like currently happens with my Cablevision 8300HD box.

Anyway, what is the consensus on purchasing the Extended Warranty? Normally I don't buy them, but normally I also don't buy the 1st day something comes out. How reliable have past Tivos been? Do the first ones usually have hardware issues?

Edit: Oh and I did purchase it with Lifetime service if that affects your thinking.
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 11:54 PM   #2
MeInDallas

I would definately get it since you got lifetime, 100% from me. You have 30 days once you get it to decide.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:39 AM   #3
HenryFarpolo

I don't normally get extended warranty. Most electronics will fail early if there is an issue. However $29.99 for two years is a good price, so I went for it.
HenryFarpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:13 AM   #4
bmgoodman

I rarely buy extended warranties, but with Tivos with Lifetime Service, I *usually* do. I'd say $40 for 3 years is acceptable for a $1000 device.
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:44 AM   #5
jfh3

I always get it if the box has lifetime, never if it doesn't.
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:10 AM   #6
jcthorne

Why? Tivo will do out of warranty 'repairs'. Its an exchange just like in warranty service, they just charge you a flat fee. Usually about the cost of a refurb unit and they transfer the subscription to the 'repaired' unit. you do not loose the lifetime sub if the unit fails and is 'repaired' by TiVo. Weeknees can do the repairs too.