TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-09-2015, 06:28 PM   #1
crobey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 16
USB wired Ethernet adapter

So it looks like a surge from a nearby lightning strike may have fried my Ethernet connections on almost all my wired devices in my house (Modem, AP, switch, computer, ect..) Tivo is working but obviously no internet connection for now. Has anybody had any luck using a USB wired Ethernet adapter. I know I had one for my series2. I also have a series 3 that I may need to try the same workaround if I can't figure this out.

crobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 07:00 PM   #2
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobey View Post
So it looks like a surge from a nearby lightning strike may have fried my Ethernet connections on almost all my wired devices in my house (Modem, AP, switch, computer, ect..) Tivo is working but obviously no internet connection for now. Has anybody had any luck using a USB wired Ethernet adapter. I know I had one for my series2. I also have a series 3 that I may need to try the same workaround if I can't figure this out.
No chance. Wired to wireless does work with devices like the ASUS EA-N66R, the equivalent from Linksys, and of course the TiVo AN0100. I use the ASUS. I guess you didn't have a UPS? If you did, what kind, since I want to be sure to not buy one. Sorry for your loss.

This is a Roamio thread. Why not use the built-in wireless?

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 08:47 PM   #3
crobey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 16
Well I've got a bunch of troubleshooting to do. I would rather not use wireless for the obvious reason of transfer speed.

crobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 08:00 AM   #4
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobey View Post
Well I've got a bunch of troubleshooting to do. I would rather not use wireless for the obvious reason of transfer speed.
My transfer speed is over 90Mbps between a wired Premiere or a wireless PC. Since it's a base Roamio, the Ethernet is only 100Mbps.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.
Page generated in 0.05169702 seconds (68.83% PHP - 31.17% MySQL) with 18 queries