TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-21-2013, 04:23 PM   #1
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,023
Wealknees Roamio Basic Model

Don't know if the Roamio basic model is a 2.5 or 3.5 drive, but Weakness is offering a basic model with 300 and 475 HD hours upgrade.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
Don't know if the Roamio basic model is a 2.5 or 3.5 drive, but Weakness is offering a basic model with 300 and 475 HD hours upgrade.
Actually they're selling the plus model with a 2TB and 3TB drive upgrade as well.

I'm guessing it can't do 4TB then.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
If they are putting a 3TB in the basic model, and it doesnt say anything about it being external, then that would lead me to believe it has a 3.5 hard drive internal. I dont know of any 3TB 2.5 hard drives. The largest I have found is 2TB.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:33 PM   #4
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 730
Since they have these available the day after launch, I'm thinking the file system changes, if any, are minor and that the old self-upgrade methods will be the same, or easily adapted.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:33 PM   #5
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
OK I just called Weaknees on the phone, and the guy I spoke with confirmed that the base model does indeed use a 3.5 regular size hard drive NOT a smaller 2.5 size drive.

Whew!
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:40 PM   #6
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 26,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
OK I just called Weaknees on the phone, and the guy I spoke with confirmed that the base model does indeed use a 3.5 regular size hard drive NOT a smaller 2.5 size drive.

Whew!
Wow, so the hard drive (using a 500GB WD spec sheet) weighs a pound, and the whole Roamio weighs 3.7 pounds. So the rest is only 2.7 pounds.

The Plus and the Pro weigh 6.9 pounds, and since those drives weigh 1.4-1.6 pounds, the rest is 5.4 pounds. I wonder what makes the Plus and Pro twice as heavy as the Base model...
__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #7
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
My thought would be plastic. If you look at both models, the Plus and the Pro are metal cases, and the base model looks to be plastic of some sort.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #8
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,171
Could be the bigger case and the power supply.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:46 PM   #9
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Yep and the base model has an external power supply too.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:48 PM   #10
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 26,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
My thought would be plastic. If you look at both models, the Plus and the Pro are metal cases, and the base model looks to be plastic of some sort.
Looks like a few other things missing, including a fan and a power supply.


__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:52 PM   #11
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
I noticed that too, and the cable card goes in at the bottom. It reminds me of the new Genie from Directv, it is smaller and has no fan, and uses an external power supply too. The top of the base model looks like its all one piece of plastic that pops off the top.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:02 PM   #12
Big Boy Laroux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 86
So how is it that the upgraded plus can go to 475 hours with 3 TB, but pro goes to 450? Tivo crap on the Hard Drive?
Big Boy Laroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:09 PM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Coupons still work on the upgraded units too.

My will power is fading. I might be ordering a 2TB Plus today.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:16 PM   #14
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
I told myself I wasnt gonna do it, and I'm getting weaker the more people are talking about them. I kinda want that base model for the OTA capability
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:19 PM   #15
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 26,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Since they have these available the day after launch, I'm thinking the file system changes, if any, are minor and that the old self-upgrade methods will be the same, or easily adapted.
Must be.

I received this in an email 4 hours ago from Weaknees:

Quote:
"Will WeaKnees be offering upgraded Roamios and kits for Roamios?
We're working on it and we have every expectation that we will have these units in larger capacities. But, since our testing isn't yet complete, we don't have final info. We'll be posting on our blog as soon as we have news."
So I went to the blog and found:

Quote:
"TiVo Roamio Upgraded Units Now Available
Posted on August 21st, 2013, by Jeff
We are thrilled to announce that we are now building and shipping TiVo Roamio and TiVo Roamio Plus DVRs with 2TB and 3TB drive options. For pricing and more information, see our TiVo Roamio Product page.

We still have four-tuner TiVo Roamio units in stock, but TiVo Roamio Plus and TiVo Roamio Pro units are on backorder for a few days until we receive our next shipment."

__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:26 PM   #16
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Since they have these available the day after launch, I'm thinking the file system changes, if any, are minor and that the old self-upgrade methods will be the same, or easily adapted.
If this is available less than a day after launch, there's prior knowledge going on. There's no way that the changes to the file system are minor enough for wk to have figured them out and redesigned their website this quickly without it.

Get ready for another monopoly on expansions until the rest of us can figure it out (if that's even possible without inside help).
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:27 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
I told myself I wasnt gonna do it, and I'm getting weaker the more people are talking about them. I kinda want that base model for the OTA capability
I'm in the same boat. I already have a Stream so it comes down to whether I need 6 tuners or not. And I don't think I really do. I might just order the 4 tuner unit with the free Stream, throw my own 2TB drive in there, and then sell the Stream to offset the cost.

I like that the 4 tuner has a power brick instead of an internal power supply, as that's easier to replace. I like that it does OTA even though I don't need it right now. And I like that it's only $200 instead of $600.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:30 PM   #18
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
Since they have these available the day after launch, I'm thinking the file system changes, if any, are minor and that the old self-upgrade methods will be the same, or easily adapted.
Weeknees was one of the first if not the first to sell Premiere upgraded drives, iirc. I believe this was even before the new tools so they might do it differently.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:33 PM   #19
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I'm in the same boat. I already have a Stream so it comes down to whether I need 6 tuners or not. And I don't think I really do. I might just order the 4 tuner unit with the free Stream, throw my own 2TB drive in there, and then sell the Stream to offset the cost.

I like that the 4 tuner has a power brick instead of an internal power supply, as that's easier to replace. I like that it does OTA even though I don't need it right now. And I like that it's only $200 instead of $600.
Good points, I was thinking the same thing. I wish Tivo had gone to external power supplies on all models, and the OTA is a big plus for me. I have the XL4 now but IF I ever did go away from TWC then it would be worthless to me. I just cancelled a 2 tuner unit on Monday because it was out of contract. I knew these were coming, but $600 I just cant see it right now. You know in a few months prices will come down some at least, but $200 I can swing
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:33 PM   #20
ppartekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Middle of Silicon Valley, next to the mothership
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Coupons still work on the upgraded units too.

My will power is fading. I might be ordering a 2TB Plus today.
Coupons? You mean I could get the 3TB base for less than the stated $449.. please give details.. CC getting warm waiting...



That or I need upgrade instructions.. I see 3TB drives available at Fry's for ~$120.. vs the $250 add-on for Weakness..
ppartekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #21
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
For the basic the coupon is just ROAMIO and it takes $10 off.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:38 PM   #22
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefe View Post
Must be.

I received this in an email 4 hours ago from Weaknees:



So I went to the blog and found:
Quote:
We still have four-tuner TiVo Roamio units in stock, but TiVo Roamio Plus and TiVo Roamio Pro units are on backorder for a few days until we receive our next shipment."
You threw a scare into me. I ordered last night before the message. Customer support told me my unit should be shipping in 20 minutes, should get it no later than Wednesday.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:09 PM   #23
tivogurl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
For the basic the coupon is just ROAMIO and it takes $10 off.
In that case you're better off taking the $50 discount from the free stream code and ordering direct from TiVo.
tivogurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:13 PM   #24
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivogurl View Post
In that case you're better off taking the $50 discount from the free stream code and ordering direct from TiVo.
Only if there is a way to upgrade ourselves. If not then you'll have to wait for Weaknees to offer drop in drives and likely pay a premium for that.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:17 PM   #25
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 239
Would there be any warranty concerns with buying/putting in a claim on a 3 year extended warranty if people purchase a modified box from Weaknees...since they have to open the enclosure to modify the DVR? Thinking of biting on a modified 2TB Plus.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:25 PM   #26
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Boy Laroux View Post
So how is it that the upgraded plus can go to 475 hours with 3 TB, but pro goes to 450? Tivo crap on the Hard Drive?
WK may have been able to supersize the drive which would give added usable capacity.

It's really tempting to go with a Roamio Plus 3TB now but the price premium, even with coupon, is still very high.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:29 PM   #27
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devx View Post
WK may have been able to supersize the drive which would give added usable capacity.

It's really tempting to go with a Roamio Plus 3TB now but the price premium, even with coupon, is still very high.
Did JMFS offer supersize options? I haven't upgraded since the WinMFS days since I bought the XLs at launch and the Elite at the 2TB limit.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:30 PM   #28
tivogurl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrizzo80 View Post
Would there be any warranty concerns with buying/putting in a claim on a 3 year extended warranty if people purchase a modified box from Weaknees...since they have to open the enclosure to modify the DVR?
That would certainly void TiVo's warranty. I assume you'd be buying the Weaknees extended warranty which presumably doesn't have that problem.

If you buy lifetime I don't know if Weaknees' warranty qualifies for the free transfer of lifetime to a replacement box like Best Buy's warranty does.
tivogurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:17 PM   #29
ydc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
For the basic the coupon is just ROAMIO and it takes $10 off.
Following that theme, I put in ROAMIOPLUS with the (you guessed it) Roamio Plus in my cart and it took off $25. Haven't pulled the trigger yet though....
ydc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:25 PM   #30
Goober96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by ydc View Post

Following that theme, I put in ROAMIOPLUS with the (you guessed it) Roamio Plus in my cart and it took off $25. Haven't pulled the trigger yet though....
And ROAMIOPRO is $40 off.
Goober96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |