TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2014, 05:21 PM   #1
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
No more new Premieres?

I was just browsing Tivo.Com and went to the outlet store and noticed all they had was a couple wireless adapters, no more Premieres of any type listed!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:31 PM   #2
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 31,172
Why would they? What reason would someone want a Premiere over a Roamio? Any Premieres they may have had were probably "old new stock."
LoadStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:33 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,587
I just noticed this yesterday too. I guess they have finally sold them all or gave some retailers a really good deal to take the rest of the inventory off of their hands.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:41 PM   #4
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadStar View Post
Why would they? What reason would someone want a Premiere over a Roamio? Any Premieres they may have had were probably "old new stock."
They were still a good deal esp for those who need OTA and those who want a Tivo without needing the latest greatest model. After they put all the work in the change in UI code to update the Premiere with the recent summer update, I'm not sure what the business plan is as it doesn't make sense to put all that work into a product that is no longer sold.

Many of Tivo's business decisions don't make sense.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:20 PM   #5
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,674
Roamios have a higher margin. Letting old stock run out isn't surprising. Basically nobody makes those particular analog tuners anymore. Part of the reason Tivo wanted the analog waiver from the FCC going forward.

MSO partners still use and deploy Premieres. We can thank RCN's pressure for the Premiere's UI update, to keep it consistent with the Mini. That wasn't the original plan. They were likely going to EOL it sooner.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 07-12-2014 at 06:26 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:41 PM   #6
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Roamios have a higher margin. Letting old stock run out isn't surprising. Basically nobody makes those particular analog tuners anymore. Part of the reason Tivo wanted the analog waiver from the FCC going forward.

MSO partners still use and deploy Premieres. We can thank RCN's pressure for the Premiere's UI update, to keep it consistent with the Mini. That wasn't the original plan. They were likely going to EOL it sooner.
I didn't think about the cable companies leased Tivo's, yes other than the Pace boxes they are almost all Premiere.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:48 PM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,600
Seems like a good time to look towards a special woot offer to come out.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 11:56 PM   #8
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
They were still a good deal esp for those who need OTA and those who want a Tivo without needing the latest greatest model. After they put all the work in the change in UI code to update the Premiere with the recent summer update, I'm not sure what the business plan is as it doesn't make sense to put all that work into a product that is no longer sold.

Many of Tivo's business decisions don't make sense.
I bet the cost of manufacturing might have been the same or higher for Premieres over Roamios. in fact, its possible that costs were increasing on certain parts if manufacturers were trying to EOL them.

They had to kill AIR/Flash to get out from under it before it was 100% dead. It was not a good decision and they've suffered for it for years.

The speed upgrade for Premieres was a happy side effect, not the primary reason it happened. The software currently is lock-step with Roamios and they needed to get it onto a better software platform for the future. At some point down the road, Premieres will become a legacy product like the earlier generations have. You should be praising Tivo for being nice. Supporting Premieres with this update is a sign of respect for their customers, both retail and Cablecos. A LOT of other companies would have already retired their previous generation to a lower tier of support like security and stability updates.
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 06:08 PM   #9
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,829
For OTA users, the Roamio has a MUCH better OTA tuner.

I didn't know about RCN pressuring TiVo on support, but that makes sense, as more than half of their business comes from MSO partners, not retail. They'd probably be out of business without the MSO partners...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 08:25 AM   #10
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Looks like Weaknees has plenty of Premiere inventory, all new, not refurb:

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-premier...vr-series4.php
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 11:49 AM   #11
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
Looks like Weaknees has plenty of Premiere inventory, all new, not refurb:

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-premier...vr-series4.php
Maybe TiVo sold them their remaining stock at a discount.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 10:19 AM   #12
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,829
The upgraded 4-tuner Premiers are a decent deal, although with the service being $500, it probably still makes more sense to get a Roamio...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |