TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-11-2013, 12:08 AM   #1
stuartbrainerd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Ongoing issues with Roamio Plus wireless

My home network consists of a couple of Ruckus Zoneflex 7982 802.11n access points with an enterprise firewall sitting in front of a Comcast modem. I have three TiVo units and been using TiVo for many years and have never had any wireless issues - until I bought the Roamio Plus. Strangely the basic Roamio unit i also bought is having no connection issues.

After a reboot of the Roamio Plus everything works fine, and the wireless connection comes right up. After a few hours, however, the connection appears to fail and I get the dreaded message that the router has failed or the router is not reachable. I tried moving to a static IP address but this did not resolve the issue. The only reliable resolution to this problem is a reboot of the unit.

I opened a case with TiVo support weeks ago but there has been no resolution. I realize I could buy the old style TiVo 802.11n adapter which connects to the Ethernet port however I have been hoping that this would not be needed.

Currently running software version 20.3.7.1a-USA-6-848

Thanks for any suggestions.
stuartbrainerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 03:58 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,365
Try adding DNS and Gateway servers to the IP address of your router.
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Retired)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 12:02 PM   #3
jbarrbbn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Tivo Roamio + Ruckus

Did you ever find the answer to the issue of your Tivo Roamio working with your Ruckus APs?

My first guess is that the Tivo WiFi adapter might not support 802.11h channel switch announcements, which are part of Ruckus' automatic channel selection process.

Try fixing your Ruckus APs to specific channels (each AP on a different channel), but make sure they aren't running in auto. This shouldn't be necessary, but it's a good thing to try.
jbarrbbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |