TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2013, 07:14 PM   #1
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
XL4 stuck in Restart loop, external HD

When i first turned my tv on i first saw the screen that said the external was missing.
I tried rebooting
then i got stuck in the reboot loop that ends with the GSOD
I tried kickstart 54 & 57
despite seeming to be accepted, I was never sent to the kickstart screen

i have a unsanctioned external 2tb external.

I'm assuming my external hdd is toast. seem logical?

question, what to do?

a) disconnect (loose recordings) , get a new HDD & send both the internal & external hdd to DVRDUDE (no tivo for a week ish, if lucky), $100 for new 2tb hdd plus the DvrDude's fee of $50-75

b) send the external & XL4 to Weaknees, $100 bench fee, try to save recordings, plus a new 2tb hdd at Weaknees rate. 2 week turn around

Anyone had experience with weaknees saving their recordings?

suggestions?
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
I would remove the external, hope the internal works, and then never plug an external drive in again, just to save the headache that will happen from having two drives connected to a TiVo.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 10:55 PM   #3
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
i hear ya

it's just the additional 300 hours of hd recording time.....<whine> plus i've got a lot of shows stacked up on the tivo
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:48 PM   #4
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
i ran the external hdd threw the WD testing & it had significant bad sectors.
I ended up divorcing & sending the XL4 into Weaknees for a marriage to another 2TB external.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by alyssa : 08-09-2013 at 05:53 PM.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:54 PM   #5
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
Conclusion,
Got it back from weaknees, they had to do a wipe and reinstall plus did a sector scan on the internal drive.
Five full days in the spa ......

The enclosure for the external weaknees uses is very nice, lots of air movement.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 03:33 PM   #6
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssa View Post
The enclosure for the external weaknees uses is very nice, lots of air movement.
But on ours the blue lights are oh so bright.

michael
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 09:07 PM   #7
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
yeah, i've got the external turned around so the cables & switch are facing out & the *bright blue* lite is buried deep in the cabinet
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 09:34 PM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,087
How did you get an unsanctioned external to be accepted by anything newer than an original S3?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:55 AM   #9
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
i sent it into dvrdude on ebay.
I used a wd av drive with an antec enclosure and it only lasted a year <sigh>
i'm RMAing the drive

this time i sent my tivo xl4 to weaknees, they supplied the drive & enclosure.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 03:48 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,339
If you sent it to Weaknees, and they had to wipe the drive anyway, why didn't you just have them upgrade the internal drive and ditch the external all together?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:36 PM   #11
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,590
I had a 2tb in the premiere already, I wanted 4TB's total

good question tho

__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |