TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2013, 09:21 AM   #1
Jerry Gallamore
Stinker
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Rca scenium TiVo won't receive signals from antenna

Can anyone tell me why my drs7000n won't receive signals from antenna
Jerry Gallamore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 01:02 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
That is not a TiVo.

And I'm guessing it won't receive anything from antenna because it only does analog, and all broadcast channels are now digital. Just a guess though.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 01:29 PM   #3
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 958
It does have a IR output might be able to control a digital to analog converter. Can ask on AVS which ones if any are compatible. http://www.avsforum.com/f/100/digita...s-pvrs-general
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 07:32 AM   #4
Jerry Gallamore
Stinker
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
It was when I bought it what happened
Jerry Gallamore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:53 AM   #5
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
It was what? A TiVo? No, it was never a TiVo. "TiVo" is a brand name, not a generic term for a DVR.

Or, it was capable of picking up channels from antenna? Yeah, there were probably analog stations on air when you bought it. Those were mostly shut down in 2009.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 01:05 PM   #6
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 958
The channel master CM7000 uses a old Pioneer cable box code, the DRS7000N should have it in it's IR library.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 03:36 PM   #7
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,916
It's an analog only DVR from 2002, so there aren't any analog over the air stations for it to pick up anymore, but the OP's not being overly descriptive in their postings
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:07 AM   #8
Jerry Gallamore
Stinker
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Gallamore View Post
Can anyone tell me why my drs7000n won't receive signals from antenna
Ok, seems I'm not going to be able to use this without putting out a fairly large sum. Does anyone know how or what I need to record OTA signals without having to pay for them. You know like in the old days when you hooked your VCR up, hate getting ripped off by big business.
Jerry Gallamore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:28 AM   #9
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
Go buy a Series 3 or 4 TiVo (two-tuner model) and connect an antenna to it. Done.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 01:46 PM   #10
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,800
TC CLUB MEMBER
Well, no -he'd still need to pay for TiVo service.

There aren't a lot of options. Maybe none, really. ChannelMaster made a CM7000-PAL OTA DVR that does this, but it is discontinued. DISH Network sold the same box as the DTVpal, but it is also discontinued. ChannelMaster says a new model is coming out "late 2013 or early 2014". I had thought the Vulkano Blast would do it, but it doesn't record from OTA.

If a TiVo model that supported ATSC had lifetime service, that would do.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:53 PM   #11
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Gallamore View Post
Ok, seems I'm not going to be able to use this without putting out a fairly large sum. Does anyone know how or what I need to record OTA signals without having to pay for them. You know like in the old days when you hooked your VCR up, hate getting ripped off by big business.
There are a number of DVR's on the market that record digital OTA w/o needing to pay for any kind of subscription.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 04:21 PM   #12
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,800
TC CLUB MEMBER
Can you name some? The ones I was aware of aren't available anymore.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 05:01 PM   #13
moedaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
There are a number of DVR's on the market that record digital OTA w/o needing to pay for any kind of subscription.
Yes, but they depend on PSIP for scheduling recordings. And PSIP varies from channel to channel and sometimes isn't there. Not at all that reliable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post
Can you name some? The ones I was aware of aren't available anymore.
AVS Forums has a thread about what's available.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1460149/up...dvrs-in-the-us
moedaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 05:07 PM   #14
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 958
Wouldn't cost too much if you can find compatible with the RCA's IR library, digital to analog converter. Maybe RCA's site has list of them and codes.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:23 AM   #15
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,877
Have a spare PC you can hook to your TV? You can get a tuner card for it. That is what I did to record my digital OTA, in a way (I have a PC connected to my TV, and always on in the evening, running a version of Windows with WMC, using a USB ATSC tuner I got a few years ago to play with digital TV).
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:44 PM   #16
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,713
Was his RCA ever capable of controlling an analog cable box?

If so, maybe it would run a coupon box.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 12:12 AM   #17
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Was his RCA ever capable of controlling an analog cable box?

If so, maybe it would run a coupon box.
Yes, if no other should have old Pioneer cable box code for Channel Master CM7000
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |